And We’re Back.


Oh hey. We’ve returned.

After being married for approximately 0.00294 seconds, Shaun and I peaced the continental U.S. for a massive Tour de Europe. For the last month and a half, we’ve been frolicking around foreign lands. We frolicked SO HARD that I broke something!!!! But that was in city #6, so you’re going to have to wait patiently and read about cities #1-5 before you get to alllll of le drama. I’ll try to make it as dramatic as possible.

Aaannnyway, I’m chilling in this brand new Starbucks that opened up approximately 4 feet from my Philadelphia apartment sometime during Tour de Europe 2012. I had a good laugh when I saw this was a Starbucks because I have a vivid memory of the construction workers leaving the [pre-Starbucks] building to come over to my U-Haul and make fun of me as I attempted to drag furniture twice my size out of the truck and onto the city sidewalk without falling/getting a parking ticket/dying. Not only did they not offer help, but they actually laughed, in my face, at my inability to carry things. Now, I get the last laugh because HA YOU WERE BUILDING A STARBUCKS. Tiny children can build a Starbucks. Shaun and I moved into our apartment OURSELVES, thank you very much. But I will sit in the Starbucks I am mocking because it is approximately 4 feet from my Philadelphia apartment and, as I mentioned, I broke something! Four feet is my current limit. Plus, I really did miss American drip coffee.

So here I sit with my American drip coffee, my water, my cellphone that is now back to being a cellphone instead of a Glorified iPod With Camera, and my tiny notebook that is crammed full of notes and thoughts from the last six weeks. Over the next few weeks [before work starts], my goal is to turn my tiny notebook into a series of posts about what we did, what we loved, and why being married is fun. Maybe Shaun will share some of his writing, too, but he is currently out buying himself a new computer because his LOVELY wife may/may not have dumped an entire Americano on his computer two to three weeks before the bar exam, killing it swiftly and mercilessly. Fear not, I got what was coming to me when I dumped an entire espresso on myself in Rome, and there are burn marks to prove it.

Shaun and I joked about what the title of our book would be if we wrote one about our honeymoon. I’ll give you some of the finalists so you can get REALLY excited about what’s to come:

  • Europe 2012: I Really Hope That Smell Isn’t Me
  • Europe 2012: I Think That Smell Is Me
  • Europe 2012: “You know this movie is in German, right?
  • Europe 2012: Walking 7KM in the Wrong Direction
  • Europe 2012: The Near-Death of a Married Couple
  • Europe 2012: Go Where the Old Men Go
  • Europe 2012: A Most Disappointing Chocolate Croissant
  • Europe 2012: Peeing Mannequins and Andy Warhol’s Pee, too!
  • Europe 2012: Sorry, We Actually Weren’t Supposed to Climb those Stairs, Let’s Turn Around

The runner-up was a super long law-review style title that goes something like this: “Europe 2012: Do a lot of Research, Walk Really Far, Find out the Place you Picked is Closed for ‘Summer Vacation,’ get Upset, and then Fight about Where to Eat Instead.” No really. But don’t get the wrong idea, we had a BLAST fighting over where we should eat instead! We actually had the best time in the history of times in general, minus some illnesses, injuries, and a random bus ride through the Brenner Pass. But even the bus ride was gorgeous.

I hope you enjoy reading about our travels, because we really enjoyed traveling our travels. Stay tuned for: Madrid, Barcelona, Nice, Rome, Siena, Munich, Budapest, Prague, Amsterdam, and Brussels. If the Internet Guy gets here on time tomorrow, the posts will come sooner rather than later. Since Comcast promised me a credit on my account if Internet Guy is late, I bet he’ll be on time. In the meantime, here are two random photos from our honeymoon. GET PUMPED.

SPACE.

DINOS.

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Travel, Wedding

Author:ryesandshine

Courtney grew up in Reading, PA, and has lived in New York City (where she earned a bachelor's degree at NYU), Prague, Philadelphia, and Charlottesville (where she received a J.D. from UVa Law). Courtney and her new husband will settle in Philadelphia following a six-week Euro-trip extravaganza in September of 2012. Courtney's interests include music, writing, criticism, fitness, travel, cooking, and sports. Please enjoy the blog. LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/courtney-marello/1a/375/b30 Tumblr: http://abarrelofoddsandends.tumblr.com/

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

13 Comments on “And We’re Back.”

  1. LizzieRogueRunner
    September 19, 2012 at 4:18 pm #

    WELCOME BACK!!!! We miss you in Cville but sounds like EuroTrip2012 was amaaaazing! Can’t wait to read the recaps. Also, you are not by chance talking about the brand new Starbucks at 18th and Spruce, are you? Because that one is brand new and is directly across the street from my bro and his fiance. So, if you were talking about that one, you are neighbors!

    • September 19, 2012 at 4:30 pm #

      Thanks!! I miss C’Ville, too. I actually forgot when we got off the plane that I wouldn’t be going back there, boooo. How’s everything down south? And yes, the one on 18th and Spruce. HAHA! You’ll have to send me an e-mail with where your bro lives. It might be my building!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Madrid, Old Men, and Magical Elixirs. | Ryes and 'Shine - September 20, 2012

    […] spent the first leg of our trip in Madrid, Spain. The only thing worse than an overnight flight is an overnight flight that lands […]

  2. Ryes and 'Shine - September 24, 2012

    […] the cities on our honeymoon that I had never been to [Barcelona, Nice, Siena, Amsterdam and Brussels], I’d say I had the […]

  3. Senatus Populusque Romanus. | Ryes and 'Shine - September 25, 2012

    […] I romanticize it. I constantly talk about it. Constantly. When Shaun found a way to work it into our honeymoon travel itinerary I practically married him on the spot. But then I fantasized about how awesome a […]

  4. When in Siena, Dance with Old Italian Men. | Ryes and 'Shine - September 25, 2012

    […] magical.* It certainly didn’t hurt that we had the best, and most personal, experience of our Tour de Europe up there in […]

  5. Mun-ick. | Ryes and 'Shine - September 26, 2012

    […] do it for me. It could be because the most expensive [by significant amounts of Euros] meals of our trip were in Munich, while none of our favorites [and many of our least favorites] were there. It could […]

  6. Blood, Broken Bones and Budapest. | Ryes and 'Shine - September 26, 2012

    […] coffee shops, and our evenings testing Hungarian foods and wines. And then, I BROKE SOMETHING! I promised I’d tell you when the time […]

  7. Amsterdam, Because Every Honeymoon Needs Style Points. | Ryes and 'Shine - September 28, 2012

    […] I’ll talk about the gouda in the room for a split second before moving on to the cool stuff. I’m kind of obsessed with gouda. If I’m makin’ you a cheese plate, you better be ready for some gouda. Young gouda, aged gouda, gouda with mustard seeds, peppered gouda, the word is starting to look funny but I still love the cheese. So Amsterdam was ahead of the curve before we even got there. When every cheese shop and farmer’s market stand had FREE SAMPLES I LOST MY HEAD. And whatever semblance of a waistline that remained from the first eight cities. […]

  8. Bruxelles, Rawr. | Ryes and 'Shine - October 2, 2012

    […] final day of our entire honeymoon? Museums and mussels. Sunday, September 16th was “No Car Day” in Brussels. People were […]

  9. What I Read and Maybe You Should, Too. | Ryes and 'Shine - October 3, 2012

    […] I Read and Maybe You Should, Too. One of the neat things I took advantage of while traveling through ten cities was book exchanges. I left the country with two books and returned with two different ones six […]

  10. Back to Cooking, Sort of. | Ryes and 'Shine - October 3, 2012

    […] to Cooking, Sort of. Before leaving for Europe I got hooked on eating raw, vegan meals. During the time around the bar exam this included mostly […]

  11. On Hallowine and Czech Salads. | Ryes and 'Shine - October 28, 2012

    […] So in short, today is recovery day. I have been meaning to re-create a salad I had at the vegetarian/vegan restaurant Maitrea in Prague for some time, and figured I should get on it on the Last Weekend. Or else. It’s a parmesan-crusted tempeh salad – so simple, but one of the most memorable dishes I ate during Eurotrip 2K12. […]

Leave a Reply

