Oh Yeah, I Still Have This Thing.


I got an e-mail the other day notifying me that my domain name was about to expire. To be honest, my first thought was, “Oh yeah, I still have that,” which isn’t surprising considering my last post was somewhere around the end of April. Nevertheless, I  renewed, and ryesandshine.com is officially active until 6.26.2013.

I wish I could return to writing with a bang, a super cool recipe, and tons of photos of all the AWESOME THINGS I’VE BEEN DOING for the last month and a half. I can’t. Things around here have been painfully boring. For those of you who don’t know, graduation from law school is extremely anti-climactic  [oh yeah, I graduated]. CONGRATULATIONS! Now, spend the next 9 weeks of your life actually learning law [read: cramming] for “10-12 hours per day, 6-7 days per week” until you take part in a 12-hour “hazing ritual” in order to receive a license to practice law. My bar review course’s words, not mine.

In between the hours of haze, a few cool things have happened. But none of them will pique a foodie’s interest, I’m sad to say. I’ve actually started a “zone” nutrition plan, fueled by a desire to improve at CrossFit and give my body a break from bad crap. Alcohol, processed foods, sugars, most grains/breads, etc. went on the chopping block – basically anything making for a good blog post about food. The goal is to have each meal hit a prescribed ratio of carb-fat-protein. I won’t bore you with details [but you can go here for more information]. I unfortunately have yet to notice any physical changes [I’m the most impatient person on the planet], but I do feel well nourished and haven’t had a single craving for anything sugary, carb-y, or alcoholic, which impresses me.  I also deadlifted 77 pounds 75 times and did 45 push-ups in a handstand position today. So there’s that.*

And there’s this guy, who turns one year old on Sunday!

hi guys!

Yes, he’s wearing a t-shirt, and no, it’s not a birthday t-shirt. In case you forgot, we managed to get the most high-maintenance, self-destructive puppy on the planet. Recently, he got some sort of irritation that he decided to care for himself by ATTEMPTING TO CHEW IT OFF. By the time we took him to the vet, he had a gnawed-up elbow and a gnarly bacterial infection where once a tiny bug bite probably existed. Hence, the t-shirt to cover the wound until it heals, another vet bill, and more puppy prescriptions. If I didn’t love him so much… he wouldn’t be getting this on Sunday.

And then there’s the wedding, which has been abstracted into a massive to-do list [46+ pending tasks, 27 completed]. It’s actually a good system. Mostly we’re creating seating charts, sending 1,000,000 emails a day and buying out Etsy, but then there are some fun tasks, like picking music, and planning the honeymoon.** Oh, and having an awesome bridal shower thrown for you by your awesome bridesmaids and mom:

this is real.

That was the cupcake stand, complete with flags which all say loving words in the languages of the countries Shaun and I will be visiting on our honeymoon. If you’re thinking, “Holy crap, that looks like something out of a wedding blog,” you’re right. The whole shower was GORGEOUS. And in case you’re wondering, the lemon blueberry was heavenly.

Aside from that, we snagged an apartment in Philadelphia in our dream location – right off Rittenhouse Square. The best part? There’s a Bernese Mountain Dog in the apartment above us. I KNOW, RIGHT? Umm… and I’ve got a pretty awesome summer reading list [please share yours with me so I can extend mine]. Currently toggling between A Game of Thrones [BEST SHOW] and Animal Liberation. Umm… and I renewed my domain name. Aren’t you PSYCHED?

* In other news, I can’t move.

** Our planes, trains and hotels are booked for post-bar/honeymoon EUROTRIP. We’ll fly into Madrid and spend about 3-4 days each in Madrid, Barcelona, Nice, Rome, Siena, Munich, Budapest, Prague, Amsterdam, and Brussels. I COULD CRY WITH EXCITEMENT. Suggestions welcome, too.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Dog, Fitness, Food, Wedding

Author:ryesandshine

Courtney grew up in Reading, PA, and has lived in New York City (where she earned a bachelor's degree at NYU), Prague, Philadelphia, and Charlottesville (where she received a J.D. from UVa Law). Courtney and her new husband will settle in Philadelphia following a six-week Euro-trip extravaganza in September of 2012. Courtney's interests include music, writing, criticism, fitness, travel, cooking, and sports. Please enjoy the blog. LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/courtney-marello/1a/375/b30 Tumblr: http://abarrelofoddsandends.tumblr.com/

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

4 Comments on “Oh Yeah, I Still Have This Thing.”

  1. Bev Licon
    June 11, 2012 at 10:13 pm #

    Welcome back. Missed reading your blogs. I thought The Zone had meat for their protein, among other foods. Will you be able to blend your vegetarian proteins and still eat The Zone without eating meat? Best of luck and good health

    • June 14, 2012 at 1:49 pm #

      They provide a chart that has a ton of different proteins, including tofu, tempeh, cheese, etc., so I’ve been able to use those in place of meat. And egg whites! It’s probably not what the guy intended back when he created the plan, but it works for me 🙂

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Childhood Music Revisited | Ryes and 'Shine - June 13, 2012

    […] bragged a lot in my last post. Specifically, I subtly commended myself for my 75 deadlifts and handstand push-ups. Welp, ladies […]

  2. Childhood Music Revisited | Ryes and 'Shine - June 13, 2012

    […] bragged a lot in my last post. Specifically, I subtly commended myself for my 75 deadlifts and handstand push-ups. Welp, ladies […]

Leave a Reply

