So What, I Fixate.


A few weekends ago when we stopped at The Market at Bellair for sandwiches, a bag of fresh english muffins from a local bakery caught my eye. I’m not a big bread person and can’t think of the last time I ate an english muffin, but these muffins looked perfect. I thought about them for a while [read: obsessed over them], and kept considering making a run back out to Bellair to pick them up. I’m pretty sure Shaun got so sick of me scouring the bread aisle at every store in town, because one day he came home with a surprise:

So yeah, I fixated and probably drove Shaun nuts. Thank god I did, though, because this happened:

Poached Eggs “Benedict” with sriracha veganaise and a little bit of avocado. Roasted summer squash and asparagus on the side. Parmesan cheese because, well, we need to get rid of it after this meal.

After working in many a restaurant and experiencing the health code violation that is bearnaise sauce [aka, hollandaise], I became a little disenchanted with it.Spicy vegan mayo with a little spread of extra-ripe avocado is a great substitute.** It let the eggs shine. I don’t mean to toot my own horn, but I’ve got poaching eggs down to a science, and not using one of those creepy plastic microwave things. Need a tutorial? Let me know…

Plus one million for these muffins, too. They were cake-y and had a great texture from the crunch of the stone ground flour. Speaking of stone ground, CHECK THIS OUT:

Rawtella: stone-ground hazelnut chocolate spread, completely vegan. No weird junk – like the sugars, milks, and emulsifiers that you find in Nutella. It’s also much lower in calories and fat for the same serving size. Ah, the beauty of natural, raw foods. I had a tiny spread on a slice of apple yesterday and almost died. SO GOOD. Buy immediately.

I write this post with a bit of a heavy heart because I’m laying near our pup, who’s become extremely ill. He hasn’t eaten, drank, or played in almost 48 hours, and spent a good portion of that time vomiting and crying. He went to the emergency room last night [for legitimate purposes this time] for x-rays and they found some inflammation and a few unknowns in his digestive system. According to the vet, it could “go either way” re: whether he will need further treatment [read: surgery]. We’ve been given a special diet that we’re supposed to feed him two tablespoons of every four hours for the next two days, but he still refuses to drink. We could be back at the vet in no time. Cross your fingers for Grady!

I’m not joking. Bearnaise/hollandaise is a health code violation.

** I also have a vegan hollandaise sauce recipe I’d be happy to share.

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Food, Recipes

Author:ryesandshine

Courtney grew up in Reading, PA, and has lived in New York City (where she earned a bachelor's degree at NYU), Prague, Philadelphia, and Charlottesville (where she received a J.D. from UVa Law). Courtney and her new husband will settle in Philadelphia following a six-week Euro-trip extravaganza in September of 2012. Courtney's interests include music, writing, criticism, fitness, travel, cooking, and sports. Please enjoy the blog. LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/courtney-marello/1a/375/b30 Tumblr: http://abarrelofoddsandends.tumblr.com/

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

3 Comments on “So What, I Fixate.”

  1. Alison EB
    March 8, 2012 at 11:20 am #

    I hope Grady is okay. Keeping him and you guys in my thoughts! Keep me posted.

    • March 8, 2012 at 11:21 am #

      Thank you! Will let you know. He’s just not eating…

  2. Bev Licon
    March 8, 2012 at 1:09 pm #

    So sorry to hear about Grady.Hopefully he is on his way to recovery. Will keep positive thoughts til he’s feeling better.Hang in there Courtney and Shaun. My fingers are crossed.

Leave a Reply

