Pizza Night


It didn’t take me long to answer my question from the last post re: what to do with the rest of the Mother Dough. Clearly, the best option for snow day dinner was cozy and filling home-made pizza with Italian wine. We used to make pizza with store-bought dough [they make it fresh for you at Kroger with the flour of your choice if you just ask], but this was the first time we made pizza from scratch from start to finish.This took over an hour [plus the time Shaun spent Sunday actually making the dough], but was so, so worth it.

We had just enough dough left for two paper-thin 6″ pizzas. The first: a barbecue pizza – a recipe by Eat, Live, Run that I bookmarked almost a year ago. Barbecue sauce [just a little], 1/3 cup chickpeas, 5-year gouda, NY cheddar, and caramelized onions. I caramelized the onions myself, not realizing it takes almost an hour.

The second: a new batch of the filling from Saturday’s Eggplant Involtini with parmesan, part-skim mozzarella, and fresh parsley. I grated all of the cheeses by hand, too. Suffice it to say this dinner was quite the workout. Because the crusts were super thin, these only baked for 10 minutes at 375 degrees before browning and crisping nicely.

Pizza night was supplemented with a trip to Market Street Wine [Grady needed a walk], where I scoured the Italian section and settled on a Chianti. It took me ages to come to a decision because the staff in that store avoided me like the plague. It was as if they were actively ignoring me! Including the cashier, who finished a conversation with a friend while I stood there with my wallet out and the wine on the counter. Guess I looked underage or like a cheapskate? In any event, I’ll give my wine cash to Whole Foods or C’Ville Market next time.

I do have to pat myself on the back for this pick, though. Good job, self. Spicy on the front, dry finish with blackberries in the middle. It fit the vision I had for dinner perfectly.

I honestly can’t decide which pizza I liked best. The Involtini pizza paired better with the Chianti. I’m eager to try the BBQ pizza again, but with beer. The key, I’m sure: fresh cheeses [thanks Whole Foods] grated by hand, fresh vegetables, and home-made dough.

Now it’s time to detox and rid my body of all the carbs and carbs and carbs from the last few days…

* Shaun’s interjection here: “Well, we didn’t grind the flour ourselves.” Small potatoes, Shaun.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categories: Food, Recipes

Author:ryesandshine

Courtney grew up in Reading, PA, and has lived in New York City (where she earned a bachelor's degree at NYU), Prague, Philadelphia, and Charlottesville (where she received a J.D. from UVa Law). Courtney and her new husband will settle in Philadelphia following a six-week Euro-trip extravaganza in September of 2012. Courtney's interests include music, writing, criticism, fitness, travel, cooking, and sports. Please enjoy the blog. LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/courtney-marello/1a/375/b30 Tumblr: http://abarrelofoddsandends.tumblr.com/

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. So What, I Fixate. | Ryes and 'Shine - March 8, 2012

    […] Poached Eggs “Benedict” with sriracha veganaise and a little bit of avocado. Roasted summer squash and asparagus on the side. Parmesan cheese because, well, we need to get rid of it after this meal. […]

  2. The Mother Dough Strikes Again | Ryes and 'Shine - March 13, 2012

    […] Tosi’s “Mother Dough” recipe appeared here and here over spring break [drool], and made a return last night in another post-run creation by […]

Leave a Reply

