Spring Fever Salad


One of the things I love, love, love about spring is how bright the colors are. Flowers, vegetables, clothing – everything suddenly pops. Another thing I love is the abundance of fresh vegetables for delicious, spring salads. Although we’re not quite there yet, it was 63 degrees today and is supposed to be 70 tomorrow, so I thought it was the perfect time to celebrate with a pre-spring pasta salad for dinner.

carboloadz.

So yes, my carb kick is continuing.* I don’t think it’s harming my weight-loss goals per se [I’m hovering rather frustratingly at or slightly above the halfway point of my goal, more on the “slightly above” side in the last few days], but I have noticed a tip upwards in the scale. Do carbs do this? Perhaps. It’s all about storage. Essentially [simplifying it in a way I could understand], your body needs 3 units of water to store each 1 unit [gram] of carbs that you don’t immediately burn. This explains our intrigue with low-carb diets: you lose a lot of weight right off the bat. Alas, it’s stored water, which also explains why hopping off a low-carb diet makes it such that you gain a decent amount of lost weight back. I digress though. Carbs are, obviously a good thing [in moderation] and hopefully I’ll regain control of my starchy cravings soon and give my body [and the scale?] a water break.

This pasta salad was the perfect way to carb up. Loosely based on this recipe from The Kitchn, it’s a cauliflower and edamame mix with veggie spirals from Whole Foods, Twin Oaks tofu, tons and tons of garlic, crumbled feta, mint, and scallions. The dressing was 1/2 a lemon, 2 tbsp Bragg’s and 1 tbsp sugar-free maple syrup. There’s nothing better than a bright, sweet and salty salad.

feta love.

This recipe can be easily vegan-ized by removing the cheese. I imagine nutritional yeast would be a great substitute. It’s also a great side dish sans tofu. We just had some tofu starting to go funky that I figured would be best eaten tonight, rather than tomorrow. I loved this flavor combination, although now I’m dreaming of spring…

* I’m not trying to imply that I never eat carbs. I love carbs. Exhibit A: Wine. I’m implying that lately, I’ve been eating more carbs than is normal for me. Usually, my carb-iest meal of the day is oats in the AM, followed by more and more vegetables as the day progresses. Lately, it’s been oats in the AM and pasta, rice, or breads in the PM, too. For me, thats a “kick.” For others, that might be totally normal. You just have to know yourself!

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: Food, Recipes

Author:ryesandshine

Courtney grew up in Reading, PA, and has lived in New York City (where she earned a bachelor's degree at NYU), Prague, Philadelphia, and Charlottesville (where she received a J.D. from UVa Law). Courtney and her new husband will settle in Philadelphia following a six-week Euro-trip extravaganza in September of 2012. Courtney's interests include music, writing, criticism, fitness, travel, cooking, and sports. Please enjoy the blog. LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/courtney-marello/1a/375/b30 Tumblr: http://abarrelofoddsandends.tumblr.com/

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

