A Very Vegan Superbowl


The last time the Giants and the Patriots played against one another in a Superbowl it was 2008 and I was living in the Czech Republic. Not to be deterred by the six-hour time difference, my friends and I trekked to a random Czech bar with big TVs and tons of ex-pats and watched the game in real time. For those of you keeping track at home, that Giants win came around 4:00AM, which could have contributed to the screaming and crying throughout the bar.

That Giants victory seemed so much more monumental to me than Sunday night’s win; however, I’ll admit it could have been the atmosphere or the Pilsner or the sleep deprivation. I do know that Sunday night’s festivities were a little dull for Shaun and I special thanks to our over-excitement about The First Superbowl Live Stream Ever.

The First Superbowl Live Stream Ever lacked two essential pieces: the halftime show and the commercials. So yes, I missed M.I.A. flipping off the camera, Madonna falling, and the Volkswagen puppy. Granted, I caught all of this on YouTube after it had aired on live television, but the combination of The First Superbowl Live Stream Ever and my obsessive YouTube-ing of commercials nearly crashed our internet. Since I’m not a Giants or a Patriots fan, I felt deprived of the layperson’s joys of Superbowl watching. I understand the licensing would have been a nightmare, but NBC underestimated how important it would be for me to have comments about the Teleflora commercial the next day.

At least the Live Stream mishap allowed my Vegan Superbowl Meal to be the star. Check out the starting line-up below, and the recipes will follow in the coming days. I successfully pulled off vegan-izing a traditional southern dip, and that was worth the near-meltdown of our internet.

First up: Vegan BBQ Lettuce Wraps with Broccoli Slaw

checking things out.

broccoli slaw.

tofu and baby portobellos.

bbq.

slaw.

Then, my successful Vegan Pimento “Cheese” Dip and Spicy Horseradish Hummus:

pimento on the left, hummus on the right.

And of course, no dips would be complete without a dipping mechanism: Home-Baked Pita Chips:

slice.

paint.

bake.

Hint: slice whole-grain pita bread [on sale at Whole Foods for $1.79 this week!] with lemon, olive oil, oregano, chili flakes, garlic and salt, and bake for 6.5 minutes at 400 degrees. Better than a bag!

I’d say we had a very successful spread and a delicious dinner and enjoyed the game despite the stream’s inadequacies.

spread.

dips.

Did anyone else put together any gnarly superbowl snacks? Share below!

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categories: Food, Recipes

Author:ryesandshine

Courtney grew up in Reading, PA, and has lived in New York City (where she earned a bachelor's degree at NYU), Prague, Philadelphia, and Charlottesville (where she received a J.D. from UVa Law). Courtney and her new husband will settle in Philadelphia following a six-week Euro-trip extravaganza in September of 2012. Courtney's interests include music, writing, criticism, fitness, travel, cooking, and sports. Please enjoy the blog. LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/courtney-marello/1a/375/b30 Tumblr: http://abarrelofoddsandends.tumblr.com/

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

7 Comments on “A Very Vegan Superbowl”

  1. Laura McDonald
    February 7, 2012 at 4:42 pm #

    I made my first black bean burger (from allrecipes.com). It had an everything-but-the-kitchen-sink feel to it (black beans, mushrooms, onions, green pepper, garlic, mozzarella cheese, egg, chili powder, garlic salt, hot sauce, bread crumbs). It was one of the most highly rated on the site, but now that I’ve had some experience, I think I’d trim down some of the more fatty ingredients. My only qualm on that front is that I worry all the fat/bad stuff (cheese, egg, and bread crumbs) is what made the burgers actually stay together (the elusive goal of the homemade veggie burger).

    I love lettuce wraps, though, and yours look delicious!

    • February 7, 2012 at 7:34 pm #

      So it did stick together? Shaun and I have NEVER had luck with any veggie burger recipe we’ve found online, they always fall apart on the stove or the grill… often in the messiest of ways. Care to share your creation? Maybe one way to cut down on the fattiness would be to sub egg whites for whole eggs… that might maintain the stickiness but reduce the cholesterol? Hmm…
      And thanks, re: lettuce wraps. If you have any inspiration for other types, I’d love to hear!

  2. February 7, 2012 at 9:57 pm #

    Awesome! I made vegan pimento cheese dip on Superbowl Sunday too….though I didn’t watch the Superbowl.

    The spread looks delis!

  3. February 7, 2012 at 9:58 pm #

    Forgot to mention that I love the pic with your puppy’s eyes all bugging out over the food 🙂

    • February 7, 2012 at 9:59 pm #

      Thanks! He gets crazy eyes when he wants to be involved. Hope the vegan pimento dip turned out well… I’d be curious to see other recipes!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Vegan Pimento | Ryes and 'Shine - February 8, 2012

    […] the best of them with this cholesterol-free vegan version of a Southern classic. Perfect for the Superbowl, and the leftovers almost certainly will make it onto a vegan grilled cheese this week… […]

  2. Spicy Horseradish Hummus | Ryes and 'Shine - February 10, 2012

    […] Horseradish Hummus This Superbowl snack was inspired by a recent purchase by Shaun from Stanley’s Market in Toledo, Ohio – a […]

Leave a Reply

