Go Ahead, Live a Little


Gunnar Peterson, a prominent fitness guru slash personal trainer, was recently quoted saying,

“Just try and make the right choices most of the time…If you make them all the time then you’re just flat out boring and then you become a weird fitness zealot, and at the end of the day nobody wants to be around you.”

His gist? Indulge a little. It never hurts if your overall lifestyle is healthy, and if it truly is a little. My wedding-dress-induced panic makes it hard for me to live by this sometimes. I often panic about the tiniest food decision and how it’s going to affect my upcoming dress fitting [February 18th], which I realize doesn’t help things. That’s why I’m thankful for my friend Lauren, who often has to slap me in the face to snap me out of my fear of indulging. It didn’t take much slapping once I found these in my locker, though:

omg.

triple omg.

Don’t drool. They’re chocolate chip, peanut butter chip, peanut and pretzel cookies. Oh my god. They’re perfectly baked, soft, crunchy, salty, sweet, everything I want if I’m going to indulge a little. Which I did. And man, it was worth it. Thanks Lauren!

Someday in the [hopefully near] future, Lauren and I discussed the possibility of doing a “bake swap” – she’ll make recipes from her new dessert cookbook, and I’ll tackle a vegan dessert cookbook. We both have very different outlooks on baking, so it could be tons of fun. Be on the lookout for that…and in the meantime, indulge a little. I didn’t die, and neither will you.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categories: Food, Recipes

Author:ryesandshine

Courtney grew up in Reading, PA, and has lived in New York City (where she earned a bachelor's degree at NYU), Prague, Philadelphia, and Charlottesville (where she received a J.D. from UVa Law). Courtney and her new husband will settle in Philadelphia following a six-week Euro-trip extravaganza in September of 2012. Courtney's interests include music, writing, criticism, fitness, travel, cooking, and sports. Please enjoy the blog. LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/courtney-marello/1a/375/b30 Tumblr: http://abarrelofoddsandends.tumblr.com/

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

