The Best of All Worlds


There’s not much to report from Charlottesville, other than a few days of blah weather, tons of ice, prepping for classes, and a new recipe. Unless you’re Grady, then youre currently having the time of your life.

i'm having a BLAST.

Grady’s enjoying a new chew he got from Alison and Kyler for Christmas. Not only has he not put it down, he is savoring the thing. It’s funny, though, he really wants to take it outside for some reason, and shows visible signs of defeat when we snatch it up before he can lose it in the yard. Thanks, A & K!

But back to my cold, boring life. What’s better to warm up with on a cold, boring night than soup? I know, homemade mac and cheese. No wait, I’m thinking soup. WHY NOT MAKE BOTH: Skinny Macaroni and Cheese Soup, from Gina at Skinny Taste.

My contributions to the recipe were probably completely predictable: (1) spice it up; (2) vegan-ize it and (3) toss in some kale.

artichoke shells.

What’s cool about this dish other than it’s knack for satisfying multiple cravings in the healthiest way possible, is the pasta I used: “artichoke shells” from Whole Foods. They’re partially made with artichoke flour. I can’t say I tasted a huge difference, but I think I get style points.

Anyway, take Gina’s recipe, swap out the butter for a tablespoon of applesauce [I promise, it works], use unsweetened, unflavored almond milk, vegan cheese, red chili flakes, [copious amounts of] louisiana hot sauce and equal parts kale and broccoli, and you’ve got my version. I had a ton of fun making this one, and in Shaun’s words: “It’s a keeper.” Equal parts mac and cheese, soup, and healthiness, it’s the best of all worlds. Maybe it will snow some more and I’ll just have to make it again.

* I’m coming close to admitting I have a problem.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: Dog, Food, Recipes

Author:ryesandshine

Courtney grew up in Reading, PA, and has lived in New York City (where she earned a bachelor's degree at NYU), Prague, Philadelphia, and Charlottesville (where she received a J.D. from UVa Law). Courtney and her new husband will settle in Philadelphia following a six-week Euro-trip extravaganza in September of 2012. Courtney's interests include music, writing, criticism, fitness, travel, cooking, and sports. Please enjoy the blog. LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/courtney-marello/1a/375/b30 Tumblr: http://abarrelofoddsandends.tumblr.com/

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

2 Comments on “The Best of All Worlds”

  1. January 23, 2012 at 1:23 pm #

    I’m so glad Grady likes it! I can’t wait to meet him — I hope it’s before August!

    Also: KALE 4 EVA!

    • January 24, 2012 at 9:23 am #

      Day 3 and he’s still going strong with it! What a great gift.

Leave a Reply

