My Apologies and More Odds


Hey. Sorry for the radio silence. I just couldn’t get into writing the past few days. There’s plenty to report [Paula Deen has diabetes, come on], but I’ve had little motivation to do so. Not sure why. I guess it’s time for a life re-cap, with some foodie news, reading news, news news, word vomit, etc.

  • If I’ve ever had a complaint about Bodo’s Bagels [other than “It’s 11PM, I’ve had too much wine and all I want is an *expletive* bagel but Bodo’s is closed] it was that it never quite satisfied my craving for a soy sausage, egg and cheese bagel the way Yorgo’s in Norfolk does. While they offer twin oaks tofu [bomb], they hadn’t jumped on the soysage bandwagon like, say, Bluegrass Grill. But Hooray – Bodo’s started serving No Bull Burgers and egg whites on both their bagel sandwiches and salads. YES. They’ve also added Red Bull to their arsenal, which will make my grandmother very happy. Shaun almost hugged the cashier as he stuffed a No Bull whole-wheat-everything bagel into his mouth, who responded: “Do you think this will help business?” My reply: “I don’t think it can get any busier in here, but you’ll be seeing more of us, for sure.”
  • I completed David Sedaris’ Children Playing Before A Statue* of Hercules, and have to make an addendum to my original comments on the book: it’s actually a compilation of Sedaris’ favorite short stories by other authors, James Joyce, Richard Yates, Flannery O’Connor, etc. It’s brilliantly curated. You’ll laugh out loud, but the stories actually get progressively sadder. I can’t think of a time I’ve laughed and cried so openly in public, except at weddings. I cry at weddings all the time.
  • Speaking of weddings, Shaun and I spent hours at Crate and Barrel earlier this week creating a registry. It really is intense. I never understood why couples react so angrily when people give gifts “off the registry,” but that was before I spent time agonizing over a particular bowl or knife. I totally understand their horror now. At least we walked out with a free flower vase. Thanks, C&B.
  • Shaun and I have also continued alternating dinners, and last night, this happened:

casserole.

It’s a “Mexican lasagna” of sorts – but pasta-less, with zucchini strips rather than pasta noodles. Key ingredients: vegan cheddar, crushed tomatoes, cumin, chili powder, mushrooms [for a meaty texture], onions. Zucchini layered on tomatoes layered on veggies and cheese, in what Shaun likes to call his departure from “throwing everything into a Crock Pot” toward “throwing everything into a casserole dish.” I loved it.

  •  Finally, a new restaurant to report on: Bellytimber Tavern in Richmond, where Shaun and I had dinner with our friends Robin and Jamie after The Crate and Barrel Extravaganza. (1) This is important, because it’s the first time I’ve been to Richmond and haven’t eaten at either Ipanema or Sticky Rice; (2) This place is really, really fun. I got a kale salad with wasabi peas and flash-fried Twin Oaks tofu – pretty good, but the star here are the pizzas [which are 2$ off from 5-7 on weekdays]. Robin’s basil caper pizza made me drool, and Shaun’s duck pizza with vegan cheddar looked and smelled outstanding. No photos because we were having too much fun to pause, but there will be a return visit ASAP.

I think that’s that for now; but keep on checking for a post about new peanut butters and a new dish.

* Thanks to law school and impending lawyer-ness, I will forever write “statute” and then have to correct it in the editing phase.

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Food, Wedding

Author:ryesandshine

Courtney grew up in Reading, PA, and has lived in New York City (where she earned a bachelor's degree at NYU), Prague, Philadelphia, and Charlottesville (where she received a J.D. from UVa Law). Courtney and her new husband will settle in Philadelphia following a six-week Euro-trip extravaganza in September of 2012. Courtney's interests include music, writing, criticism, fitness, travel, cooking, and sports. Please enjoy the blog. LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/courtney-marello/1a/375/b30 Tumblr: http://abarrelofoddsandends.tumblr.com/

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Leftover Avocado: What to do? | Ryes and 'Shine - January 21, 2012

    […] its open side with lemon or lime juice] so I had to cook with the remnants from Shaun’s zucchini casserole, and fast. I only had to search my recipe archives for about ten seconds before I figured out what […]

Leave a Reply

