It’s a Cabbage. Who Knew?


In case you’re wondering: I’ve lived in eight different apartments from 2007 until today. In case you’re wondering why that’s important: I started my bar application yesterday. Not only do I need to list all eight of those apartments, I needed the exact day I moved in and moved out of each. In case you’re wondering how long it took to figure that information out: about an hour. Thanks mostly to Gmail, I was able to piece together the dates from archived e-mails [saying things like, “Well, we don’t move in until June 15th…”] with tidbits of information. I got to re-read my Prague orientation packet to learn when we moved in and out of our apartment in Prague. That made me sad. An hour later I had eight apartments, sixteen dates, and a lot of data to enter. And that was only one page of the 40screen bar application. Be prepared, my friends.

In other news, kale is a form of cabbage. I did not know this. It’s a close relative of the brussel sprout, broccoli, cauliflower, and collard greens. It’s sickeningly healthy [considered a “superfood,” although does anyone know what that really means?], and it popped up on our dinner table again last night [third time this week, see here and here]. It’s high in basically every vitamin ever, iron, calcium, potassium, and some things that supposedly have anti-cancer properties. Pair that with the fact that it’s not very calorie dense, and that’s probably how you make a superfood.

Shaun made a crock pot kale stew with ginger, garlic, lentils and an oyster mushroom broth. Oyster mushrooms are crazy meaty. I don’t know that I had ever tried them whole before. This was the perfect winter meal, and paired well with last night’s torrential downpour. Man, I thought it would never stop raining.

Now it’s time to list every employer I’ve had for the last five years. I’ve never been as happy that Gmail archives e-mails as I am now that I’ve started this application. Thanks, e-paper trail.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: Food, Recipes

Author:ryesandshine

Courtney grew up in Reading, PA, and has lived in New York City (where she earned a bachelor's degree at NYU), Prague, Philadelphia, and Charlottesville (where she received a J.D. from UVa Law). Courtney and her new husband will settle in Philadelphia following a six-week Euro-trip extravaganza in September of 2012. Courtney's interests include music, writing, criticism, fitness, travel, cooking, and sports. Please enjoy the blog. LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/courtney-marello/1a/375/b30 Tumblr: http://abarrelofoddsandends.tumblr.com/

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

