Pineapple, Part I


Remember my mini to-do list? Spice cabinet = done. It’s been gutted, cleaned, and organized, and now looks like this:

i eliminated need for the top shelf.

In case you can’t quite read the extent of my neuroses, here’s a close up:

hooray.

Yep, totally alphabetized them. Now, they’re on a shelf I can reach, and easy to pull out. I’ll never have to dig through the shelves again. This box was thanks to a purge of the upstairs we did a few days ago – after throwing away tons of old papers, supplies, toiletries, we freed up this box. I’d say I put it to good use.

I’m also putting to good use a pineapple I got at Whole Foods on Wednesday – they had a pineapple sale, and Vegetarian Times has a pineapple feature this month, so get ready to be pineapple-d out. Up first: a fancied version of their pineapple fried rice with wild rice rather than brown.

Wild rice trumps it’s brown grained friend in many ways. It has a nuttier, chewier texture which is fun to play with, fewer calories per 1/4 cup [dry] serving, and more protein, fiber, vitamin B, folic acid, zinc and potassium than brown. It’s a nutritional powerhouse, and it’s minimal reading on the glycemic index won’t spike your blood pressure and will leave you feeling full longer. I’ve been dying to try cooking with it for some time, and this recipe was the perfect opportunity.

I upped the veggies and the red pepper flakes from the original recipe, and also substituted an orange for a red pepper [because that’s all Integral Yoga had], and have to say – I’m a fan of this one. Rice takes forever to cook though, so I don’t imagine this will pop up often in my repertoire. But, come on, look at those colors:

lovely.

It’s bright and sunny in the middle of winter. My advice? Add even more red pepper flakes. Could have been spicier. I’m also excited to use the pineapple sauce in other dishes.

chewy, fruity, dinner.

Man, pineapple rocks. I’ll give you a hint – the next pineapple recipe is breakfast. Get psyched.

After dinner, we went to Vinegar Hill Theater to see My Week With Marilyn. It was enjoyable – with great individual performances. I honestly couldn’t take my eyes off of Michelle Williams, yet I pitied her at the same time. If that’s really the effect Marilyn Monroe had on people… well, I can understand the hype [The New York Times, however, strongly disagrees with me, and trashes basically every performance]. The story was a little hurried, and this made a few things unbelievable for Shaun, but for me, the 90-minute cap was about as much as I could have handled. I recommend it with reservations – if you can see it for around $7 I’d go – but it’s not necessarily something that needs to be seen on the big screen.

Pineapple and Wild Rice “Fried Rice” (Vegan, Vegetarian)

From Vegetarian Times January/February 2012 issue, page 64, modified/adjusted for two people by me.

Prep Time: 45 minutes

Serves: 2

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup wild rice
  • 2 cups vegetable broth
  • 2 tbsp water
  • 1 1/4 cups fresh pineapple, finely diced
  • 2 tbsp soy sauce
  • 1 tsp red pepper flakes
  • 1 small yellow onion, diced
  • 1 orange bell pepper, diced
  • 5 baby carrots, chopped
  • 5 green onions, sliced thin
  • Salt and pepper, to taste

Directions:

1. In a blender, combine the water, 1/2 cup pineapple, soy sauce and red pepper flakes with a little salt and pepper, blend until smooth and set aside. This is your sauce.

2. Cook the wild rice in the vegetable broth. It took me about 25-30 minutes to reach maximum chewiness.

3. In a saute pan, heat the onion and garlic until soft. Add the carrots and orange pepper and a splash of water, cook until softened, then add the pineapple.

4. When the rice is finished cooking, pour it into the saute pan and top with the blended sauce. Cover and simmer until the liquid cooks down.

5. Add in the green onions, stir, and serve. Garnish with chilled pineapple!

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: Recipes

Author:ryesandshine

Courtney grew up in Reading, PA, and has lived in New York City (where she earned a bachelor's degree at NYU), Prague, Philadelphia, and Charlottesville (where she received a J.D. from UVa Law). Courtney and her new husband will settle in Philadelphia following a six-week Euro-trip extravaganza in September of 2012. Courtney's interests include music, writing, criticism, fitness, travel, cooking, and sports. Please enjoy the blog. LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/courtney-marello/1a/375/b30 Tumblr: http://abarrelofoddsandends.tumblr.com/

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

