Be It Resolved:


Normally, I’m not one for “New Year’s Resolutions.” If I think of a goal, I’ll get to work immediately rather than wait for an artificial starting point. But 2012 is a different year for me: I’m getting MARRIED,* I’m graduating from law school, I’m taking the bar exam, I’m starting a job at a law firm, I’m running my first half-marathon and sprint triathlon, I’m moving [yet again] and potentially staying in a city for longer than a 4-year time period,** and I’m hopefully doing a bit of world traveling.

That’s a lot, no? Many of those milestones come with inherent “goals” or “resolutions.” Like, pass the bar. Pull off a DIY wedding. Stick to a training plan. Show up to class so they let you graduate. But there are also some broader resolutions I’d like to succeed in in order to make each of those moments the best they can be. Part of it is fueled by my moderate fear of what life will be like post-seven years of university: do as much in 2012 as you can because you’ll never have time to again. The other part of it is probably fueled by my obsessive make-a-list-and-check-it-off neuroses. Whatever the spark, I’ve got resolutions this year.

I don’t often write so personally, instead glossing over the secret stuff and sticking to the how-tos and what-not-to-dos and heres-what-we-ates; however, if there’s one thing I’ve learned from other bloggers it’s that exposure creates accountability, and often when you’re setting goals that’s just what we all need. So, without further adieu, I ask you to help me with the following “resolutions” – any tips, tricks, advice, or stories you may have are welcome, and feel free to e-mail them if you don’t want to comment publicly.

1. The One Where I Lose Weight: More specifically, I want to shed ten pounds by the half marathon on April 7, 2012. It’s no secret that I’ve had some ups and downs [mostly ups] with my weight since working at a law firm last summer, and not only is poor Shaun sick of watching me whine as I attempt to squeeze into last year’s jeans, I’m sick of making excuses [“It’s muscle,” “It’s stress”] and ready to regain control. To be honest, trying on wedding dresses has been a major source of anxiety. There’s nothing less flattering than white, and when you already feel crappy about your body, it makes things worse. I want to kick those bad feelings, regain lost strength and tone, and feel confident in a dress, feel confident going into my new job, and feel faster during my races. So yes, if you see me going for seconds or those cookies, readers, feel free to yell at me. Seriously.

2. The One Where I Stop Being A Regular: Otherwise known as – I’d like to be less of a creature-of-habit this year. I’ve enjoyed using the blog as a way to explore and share new things, but often when Shaun and I would set out to explore a new “thing,” we’d stop halfway and go back to an old one. We made the bucket list for a reason, and however apprehensive I feel about a new place, I need to give it a shot. I think it’s the best way to be able to form fully-informed opinions, too. To start: Shaun and I just made reservations at at place we’ve changed-our-minds-about-and-walked-to-blue-light-instead one too many times – Ten.*** Have you made your Charlottesville Restaurant Week reservations yet?

3. The One Where I Drive Less: I have to sprint 18 miles on a bike in the triathlon in May, and I haven’t un-chained mine from the porch in months. Charlottesville is so biker and walker-friendly, but since our move out to Belmont I have been walking and biking much less than when I lived closer to campus. We used to log almost 3-4 miles of walking per day in the spring of 2011 [I kept a notebook]. Since I don’t take books home, anyway, I think biking and walking to school is a good place to start [especially on 60-degree winter days like today], and walking to grocery stores, restaurants, coffee, bars, etc. My goal: if I can walk there safely, I’m going to. Starting today. We’re planning a walk to a coffee shop and a grocery store since it’s such a beautiful day. If only we could bring Grady [pup’s on bedrest for ten days].

I’m excited about my plans for 2012, and I’m hoping to maintain enthusiasm about these three things. Does anyone else make resolutions? How do you hold yourself accountable?

* OH MY GOD I’M GETTING MARRIED.

** Barring a sudden move to the Czech Republic or Brussels or London, which is never off the table.

*** And yes, we almost made restaurant week reservations at Blue Light, or other places we’ve already gone. It was a struggle!

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Uncategorized

Author:ryesandshine

Courtney grew up in Reading, PA, and has lived in New York City (where she earned a bachelor's degree at NYU), Prague, Philadelphia, and Charlottesville (where she received a J.D. from UVa Law). Courtney and her new husband will settle in Philadelphia following a six-week Euro-trip extravaganza in September of 2012. Courtney's interests include music, writing, criticism, fitness, travel, cooking, and sports. Please enjoy the blog. LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/courtney-marello/1a/375/b30 Tumblr: http://abarrelofoddsandends.tumblr.com/

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

7 Comments on “Be It Resolved:”

  1. Tania
    January 7, 2012 at 5:34 pm #

    I appreciate these Friends-esque resolutions.
    I hate making them though! I like to just make plans for change year round. However, I did resolve to stay the same weight the entire year leading up to my wedding. I didn’t want to look any different than I normally do! Good luck driving less. I got a basket for my bike for Christmas, but I haven’t been able to get over to Giant with it yet because my tires have no air! That’s my biggest problem.

    • January 8, 2012 at 10:21 am #

      Yeah, I’m not the biggest fan of them, either, but 2012 is a pretty unique year for me so I thought it couldn’t hurt to try! And you looked beautiful at your wedding 🙂 Also, where did you find a basket? I need one. We’re doing well with driving less, as long as it continues to be 65 degrees in Virginia…hah.

  2. January 8, 2012 at 3:49 pm #

    Oh that’s perfect! I have to sell the bike I have now to buy a racing bike for the triathlon, but once I settle on a good city bike for Phila. I’m going to look into Wald. Too bad I can’t fit my dog in the basket!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Beer in Dinner, Beer with Dinner | Ryes and 'Shine - January 9, 2012

    […] back to food for a bit…This post might seem fundamentally at odds with my resolutions for 2012. Beer food with a beer on the side doesn’t seem like a weight-loss-friendly meal. I assure […]

  2. Baby Birthday Cake | Ryes and 'Shine - January 14, 2012

    […] Happy 20th +/- a few years birthday to Shaun! My all-star fiance. The one who deals with my whining and mess-ups and is as obsessed with coffee as me and helps me win trivia. We’ll be spending […]

  3. Spring Fever Salad | Ryes and 'Shine - February 23, 2012

    […] harming my weight-loss goals per se [I'm hovering rather frustratingly at or slightly above the halfway point of my goal, more on the "slightly above" side in the last few days], but I have noticed a tip upwards in the […]

Leave a Reply

