Thanksgiving Recipe Round-Up: Sweet Potato Salad


One of my favorite holiday dishes:

drool.

Sweet Potato Salad. If I could eat this daily, I would. I’m actually curious to mash it all up with a potato masher and see how it tastes then. Agh. Love it. Anyway. I now ask for this every year, and my mom thankfully obliges. Although, it was almost entirely consumed on Thanksgiving, so I must not be the only one hot for it.

sweet potatoes, granny smith apples, cranberries.

cinnamon, brown sugar, earth balance.

Thanks mom!

“Steamed” Sweet Potato Salad (Vegan, Vegetarian)

A Ziploc original.

Makes: 1 batch (we doubled for the Thanksgiving table)

Prep Time: 15-20 minutes

Ingredients:

  • 2 sweet potatoes, peeled and diced
  • 1 granny smith apple, peeled, cored and diced
  • 2 tbsp dried unsweetened cranberries
  • 1 tbsp brown sugar
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1 1/2 tsp earth balance (or non-vegan butter if you prefer)
  • 3/4 tsp salt

Directions:

1. Combine ingredients and pour into a steam-friendly bag (Ziploc makes them, called “Zip n’ Steam” bags or something).

2. Microwave for 9 minutes.

You could probably make this in a steamer pot on the stove sans butter – or maybe with a tablespoon of olive oil. That eliminates the microwave (Shaun’s afraid of it, anyway) and the butter, but maintains the soft texture of the fruit and starch. 

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: Recipes

Author:ryesandshine

Courtney grew up in Reading, PA, and has lived in New York City (where she earned a bachelor's degree at NYU), Prague, Philadelphia, and Charlottesville (where she received a J.D. from UVa Law). Courtney and her new husband will settle in Philadelphia following a six-week Euro-trip extravaganza in September of 2012. Courtney's interests include music, writing, criticism, fitness, travel, cooking, and sports. Please enjoy the blog. LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/courtney-marello/1a/375/b30 Tumblr: http://abarrelofoddsandends.tumblr.com/

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

3 Comments on “Thanksgiving Recipe Round-Up: Sweet Potato Salad”

  1. November 26, 2011 at 1:39 pm #

    Oh yum, what a great idea. I could eat so much sweet potato 😀

  2. Michelle
    November 30, 2011 at 1:34 am #

    I’m afraid of the microwave in theory, but when I come home from work, I shove a bunch of food on a plate and pop it in without thinking (about anything but eating ASAP).

    But anyway, I have a question — does microwaving the ingredients make them tough at all, say, once it starts to cool?

    • November 30, 2011 at 9:16 am #

      It definitely did not, but I think that was a product of the earth balance. I imagine if you wanted to omit any butter/butter substitute, you could steam this in a steamer on the stove. That would probably be the way I would make it in the future, I don’t like covering veggies with much of anything! Shaun feels the same way about the microwave, too. I think about it before I use it, but sometimes it’s just super convenient!

Leave a Reply

