Thanksgiving’s Over: Now What?


Well, Thanksgiving is done, done and we’re on to the next one… But first, a recap:

le table.

le Polyface turkey.

le ellen's homemade apple pecan AMAZING pie.

1. I’m thankful Grady survived. By all accounts, he was an angel during dinner. He slept under the table, didn’t bother anyone, and didn’t beg. Yesterday morning before dinner, however, he swallowed one of my cousin Alix‘s socks while my uncle was finishing laundry. Whole. This sent me into a Thanksgiving Day panic. I was counting down the hours until foreign object removal surgery. Thankfully – and I’ll put this delicately – the sock passed. I think we need to get our living vacuum cleaner under control.

taking my place behind the chef.

2. I’m thankful the pumpkin pie was a hit. I’m also thankful I got an, “It was alright,” out of my dad. That’s about all I can ask for.

3. I’m thankful I got to share Polyface with everyone. The turkey was brined and cooked perfectly, and now my parents have plenty of leftovers. It’s soon time to start the search for sustainable Philly turkeys, because unfortunately both of my suggestions: (1) to cater Thanksgiving and (2) to order Chinese food on Christmas, were shot down.

3. I’m thankful the Bernese Mountain Dog and the English Springer Spaniel won best in show in their groups at yesterday’s National Dog Show. This sent me into a fit screaming, “GRADY AND JULIET WON BEST IN SHOW!” They didn’t get it, but were both happy for the congratulatory hugs.

But now, it’s back to reality, which involves quite a few stressors:

1. Burning off the 7,000 calories I consumed yesterday in time for the next Holiday. I always find I spend the entire day eating and picking and snacking, never really taking the time to sit back and realize the calorie coma I’ve sent myself into. It will feel real when I try to run this afternoon and can’t pick up my legs. As we’re only 4 full months from the half marathon, I’ve got to change that, and fast. It might be food journal time. Groan.

2. Holiday shopping. There’s not much more to say there. Although I can’t wait to buy Grady a stocking! He also needs a large-dog sized Kong, as he just almost swallowed his puppy Kong whole.

3. Exams. Enough said, too.

Back to Virginia today for the UVa/Tech game tomorrow. My last college football game. OK BYE!

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Food

Author:ryesandshine

Courtney grew up in Reading, PA, and has lived in New York City (where she earned a bachelor's degree at NYU), Prague, Philadelphia, and Charlottesville (where she received a J.D. from UVa Law). Courtney and her new husband will settle in Philadelphia following a six-week Euro-trip extravaganza in September of 2012. Courtney's interests include music, writing, criticism, fitness, travel, cooking, and sports. Please enjoy the blog. LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/courtney-marello/1a/375/b30 Tumblr: http://abarrelofoddsandends.tumblr.com/

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

