Stealth Vegan Pie [Or, the Pumpkin Play-by-Play]


Scene: Last night, parents house.

Me: Dad, check the oven, I’m making a pumpkin pie!

Dad: [turns oven light on, looks] Okay… is this like fake pumpkin? I know how you are.*

Me: No, it’s real pumpkin, dad, what else would it be?

That’s the beauty of pumpkin pie. I 100% did not tell a lie to my dad in response to that question. Pumpkin’s pumpkin, whether the pie itself is vegan or not [when my dad reads this, he’s going to make a comment about me being a lawyer, just wait].

pie.

I’ve never made a pie before, but after working with Emily’s Vegan Pumpkin Pie recipe, I honestly don’t think I’ll ever not make a pumpkin pie when I’m asked to supply one again [my mom assures me that other pies with actual dough crusts are much more complex]. It’s dangerously [like, oh-crap-I-could-make-this-on-a-random-weekday-dangerous] simple and it feels good to know exactly what’s in it. Plus, omitting the eggs, butter, etc., takes away a tiny bit of Thanksgiving guilt. My mind was also blown by some vegan baking staples I had never used: coconut oil and silken tofu. Now, the actual act of procuring these ingredients was painful. We went to Wegman’s outside Philly last night [because I’ve never been to a Wegman’s]. MADHOUSE. Plus, each clerk took me to a different aisle claiming that’s where the silken tofu and coconut oil were. Took a good half hour to find them.

coconut oil.

From what I’ve been able to learn so far, coconut oil has a similar consistency to vegetable shortening [Crisco] or butter, and can be used in place of both. It’s cholesterol free, too. In my frustration last night I almost just picked up Earth Balance instead, but thankfully I held out – coconut oil has fewer calories than even Earth Balance [a vegan butter alternative]. When I melted it, it tasted delicious – sort of like a sweet butter. I’m a fan. Silken tofu? Not as exciting, just softer tofu, but definitely a great thickening agent for a pie like this.

A simple crust with these:

grahams - but not tomato dressing.

I got to smash the crap out of this bag.

graham, oil, syrup.

Three-ingredient crust? Heck yes. Then, I got to smash it in a pie pan. Awesome.

yesss.

crust!

Then, the rest of the stuff? No need to put wet in one bowl, dry in another like cookies. This is probably more of a Shaun recipe – throw it all in a blender.

mom has a REAL BLENDER.

give it a second.

there.

Being in a house with a true blender makes me want one even more. VITAMIX anyone?** Anyway, this was poured into the pan and baked for probably close to 55 minutes.

pour.

pre-bake.

post-bake!

It took a little bit longer than Emily’s recipe called for. My mom thinks this is because our pie pan isn’t very deep. It looks like a pie and smells like a pie, though. It’s currently chilling in the fridge, secretly being vegan. I’ll tell everyone after I get the results – although standing next to my Aunt Ellen’s homemade apple pie [maybe I’ll snag a recipe!?] I’m sure it will pale. I’ll leave you with this photo of the two monsters/baking hands:

grady and juliet.

I knew Grady was big, but I really didn’t know Grady was big until we got here and he towered over my mom’s dog [Juliet, above] and my uncle’s dog, Indie. These were two dogs I always thought were decently sized, but now they look miniature to me. Toy dogs compared to Grady, who is actually a bear.

And now, I must go – I just heard this:

Mom: “Court? Do you have small hands? There’s a potato stuck in the sink.”

Dad: “Grind it up! Grind it up with the garbage disposal!”

Mom: “COURT.”***

Happy Thanksgiving!

Vegan Pumpkin Pie with Graham Cracker Crust (Vegan, Vegetarian)

Prep Time: 10-15 minutes

Bake Time: 45-55 minutes

Serves: Ten hungry people, I hope.

The recipe comes from Emily at Daily Garnish. My only modification was to use sugar-free maple syrup rather than brown sugar, and 1/4 cup splenda and 1/4 cup regular sugar rather than 1/2 cup sugar. Otherwise, I made the pie as-is.

I also had to bake it for an extra 10 minutes, but that could be a product of my too-shallow pie pan filled with too-much pie filling.

————

* Probably referring to that time I made him spaghetti and soy meatballs and didn’t tell him until he was finished eating.

** My explanation to my mom: “I could put this CAMERA in a Vitamix and blend it!”

*** Update: Two knives later, I saved the potato.

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Categories: Recipes

Author:ryesandshine

Courtney grew up in Reading, PA, and has lived in New York City (where she earned a bachelor's degree at NYU), Prague, Philadelphia, and Charlottesville (where she received a J.D. from UVa Law). Courtney and her new husband will settle in Philadelphia following a six-week Euro-trip extravaganza in September of 2012. Courtney's interests include music, writing, criticism, fitness, travel, cooking, and sports. Please enjoy the blog. LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/courtney-marello/1a/375/b30 Tumblr: http://abarrelofoddsandends.tumblr.com/

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

5 Comments on “Stealth Vegan Pie [Or, the Pumpkin Play-by-Play]”

  1. Laura
    November 24, 2011 at 11:40 am #

    I just used up my Lexis points by buying the Cuisinart blender/food processor and couldn’t be happier with it. I made a spinach pesto in it the day I got it and the next morning made a pumpkin smoothie…. Probably the best thing I’ve gotten out of law school.
    HAPPY THANKSGIVING, Court and Shaun!

    • November 25, 2011 at 11:49 am #

      You too!!! Yes, a blender is at the TOP of our registry currently [well, I don’t know if Shaun has seen my tentative list yet, haha]. In my dream world, it would be a Vitamix, but the Cuisinart blenders are sooo cool too.

  2. January 15, 2014 at 11:33 am #

    Heya i’m for the primary time here. I found this board and I find It
    really helpful & it helped me out a lot. I hope to offer one
    thing back and help others such as you aided me.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Thanksgiving’s Over: Now What? | Ryes and 'Shine - November 25, 2011

    […] Post navigation ← Stealth Vegan Pie [Or, the Pumpkin Play-by-Play] […]

  2. 2011 Roundup: Fave 5 Recipes [Food] | Ryes and 'Shine - December 23, 2011

    […] Vegan Pumpkin Pie with a Graham Cracker Crust [from Daily Garnish] […]

Leave a Reply

