Foodie Links for 11/17


Happy Close of Courtney’s Credit Card Bill Day! Let’s celebrate together with these, and then I’ll go weep quietly on my own.

  • Check out Drinkify, further confirming that the music of Andrew Lloyd Weber is best enjoyed with an entire bottle of scotch. Also, listening to Bon Iver, surprisingly, does not require one to stir their own tears into the shaker. But I think Trans-Siberian Orchestra takes the cocktail cake here. Has anyone ever had six ounces of ouzo in one sitting? No. Because that’s how people die.
  • Are you up to date on your celebrity vegans? If not, check out this impressive list via the Associated Press. The article also includes a brief interview with vegan chef Tal Ronnen, whom I’ve blogged about before [paella, anyone?]. What does Chelsea Clinton have that I don’t that she can convince her dad to go vegan? I have to sneak vegan foods into my parents’ house, and even then I sometimes get caught. AND MIKE TYSON IS VEGAN.
  • The title of The Kitchn’s “Good Questions” post “Help! What are some foods that I can eat without chewing?” read like a question on Yahoo Answers, procrastinator’s website extraordinaire [notable Yahoo Answer favorites include, “I need the name of this song ROCK SAND?” and, this one]. The comments were actually pretty interesting, though. People recommended mac and cheese, muffins and chili, among other things I wouldn’t consider non-chewing foods. My go-to is pure mush, as I’ve divulged. What do you eat when you’re suffering from a sickness, cracked tooth, or general post-wisdom teeth pain?
  • As Shaun and I plan our New Year’s vacation [we booked a hotel, details soon!], we find that we’re struggling to pick a restaurant for our New Year’s dinner, mostly because it’s difficult to tell from a website what’s a decent place and what’s a monstrous olive garden-cum-tourist trap. I’m sure many of you feel this way when planning a vacation, and Serious Eats feels your pain – they’ve compiled a list of restaurants that are tourist traps…but actually have decent food, too. Do any of the places on their list surprise you? I, for one, thought Primanti Bros. in Pittsburgh was a huuuuge let-down.
Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Food

Author:ryesandshine

Courtney grew up in Reading, PA, and has lived in New York City (where she earned a bachelor's degree at NYU), Prague, Philadelphia, and Charlottesville (where she received a J.D. from UVa Law). Courtney and her new husband will settle in Philadelphia following a six-week Euro-trip extravaganza in September of 2012. Courtney's interests include music, writing, criticism, fitness, travel, cooking, and sports. Please enjoy the blog. LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/courtney-marello/1a/375/b30 Tumblr: http://abarrelofoddsandends.tumblr.com/

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

7 Comments on “Foodie Links for 11/17”

  1. November 17, 2011 at 9:57 pm #

    Cool list!!! The part where you say Chelsea can convince her dad to to vegan… I just wanted to let you know that it might need to be edited!!!

    • November 19, 2011 at 6:31 pm #

      ah, thanks 🙂 I’m a terrible proofreader!

  2. BOOMgoestheDynomite!
    November 18, 2011 at 5:31 pm #

    I am personally offended by your comment regarding Primanti Bros. First of all, from reading this blog I have deduced you are a vegan… how could you possibly pass judgment on Primanti Bros., if you can’t even eat one of their real sandwiches? Back in the good ol’ days they didn’t even let people like you in. I’m a trucker from New York, and every cross country trip for the past 20 years I’ve make a stop at Primanti Bros. The sandwiches are out of this world and the service is excellent… you should seriously consider re-assessing this evaluation.

    • November 18, 2011 at 8:31 pm #

      Dynomite, I’m sorry for offending you! I stand firm in my position on Primanti Bros, though. I’m actually not vegan, and did have the opportunity to try two of their sandwiches. I think the chain is gimmicky, and I think it’s a gimmick that doesn’t work. At the very least, places like Katz’s deli provide a gimmick and a decent sandwich. I’m willing to concede and say that, at the very least, Primanti Bros. might not be what it USED to be. Given what my friends who ate there with me and other responders like Foodbert say, it doesn’t seem like I’m alone in holding this view.

  3. Foodbert Einstein
    November 18, 2011 at 5:38 pm #

    Dynomite, you wouldn’t know a good sandwich from a cardboard box! Primanti Bros. is overhyped, overpriced schlock. I’ve had better sandwiches at a high school cafeteria….in LIBERIA.

  4. BOOMgoestheDynomite!
    November 18, 2011 at 10:21 pm #

    How is it a chain? There are like six locations in the entire country, four of which are in Pittsburgh. Further, what two sandwiches did you try? The cheese and double cheese special? I’m just arguing that you’re simply not in a position to judge given that you can’t actually eat a true Primanti’s sandwich… it’s like a vegetarian reviewing a world famous steak house based on the fact that they didn’t like the salads… Primanti Bro’s is known for their meat sandwich, not their grilled cheese. As for Foodbert, he is himself a schlock. That is all.

    • November 19, 2011 at 8:54 am #

      I’m certainly in a position to judge the things I eat, and my judgment of Primanti Bros was that it was disappointing and not worth the hype. Everyone in my party agreed. To each his own, though, and I’m glad you enjoy it. Serious Eats would agree with you.

Leave a Reply

