Topic #288


WordPress provides a “Daily Post” to encourage bloggers to write often and on topics that might be out of their comfort zone. I thought this one was fitting given how we third-years are stressing this week:

When you’re stressed or overwhelmed, where is the best place in the world for you to go and relax?

For me, it’s one of two places: the gym or the bathroom [wait, wait, let me explain]. When I’m stressed and can feel my blood pressure rising my first stop is the gym, where I run like a maniac and blow off some steam. For quite a few years I’ve equated gym time with “quiet time.” I joke about how I sometimes completely forget to put my headphones in during a workout because I just start thinking, but it’s really no joke. It’s my time to re-capture my thoughts, re-structure my day, and sweat out some of those gnarly stress-related chemicals. It works every single time, and I try to tell myself this on days when can’t even lift a finger let alone run an incline. When I’m not lost in thought, the gym gives me a chance to catch up on music or podcasts, which always distract from stressors.

If that’s not enough and I still feel panicked or anxious, stop 2 is the bubble bath [see, I told you I’d explain]. Never too old for one of those. The warm water [with the addition of some epsom salt to help calm the muscles], the scent of the soap and the steam without fail dilate constricted blood vessels and relax tense muscles. Plus, it’s the perfect spot to catch up on reading. What’s on the reading list right now:

Shaun thinks its weird that I’m always reading at least one book at a time. It’s because different books cater to different moods. The Godfather is much more visual than A Prayer for the City, which requires a bit more concentration and quiet. I like to keep a few novels around. What can I say, I’m a bookworm.

Where do you go when you’re stressed? Leave your thoughts in the comments!

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Uncategorized

Author:ryesandshine

Courtney grew up in Reading, PA, and has lived in New York City (where she earned a bachelor's degree at NYU), Prague, Philadelphia, and Charlottesville (where she received a J.D. from UVa Law). Courtney and her new husband will settle in Philadelphia following a six-week Euro-trip extravaganza in September of 2012. Courtney's interests include music, writing, criticism, fitness, travel, cooking, and sports. Please enjoy the blog. LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/courtney-marello/1a/375/b30 Tumblr: http://abarrelofoddsandends.tumblr.com/

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

