Subsisting on Canned Beans


As itt turns out, preparing for the MPRE is more tedious than stressful [countdown to exam: 3 days]. I’m convinced I’ll never understand when a judge can/cannot donate to a political campaign or when a solo practitioner may/may not return to practice after selling his entire law firm. Hopefully, this won’t make me less of a lawyer in the future.*

Between cramming my brain full of ethics, tons of events at school, and keeping up with baseline academic work, there’s been little time to eat, sleep, or blog. All the posts you’ve been reading for the past 4 or 5 days have been canned: that is, written essentially en masse and “scheduled” to release at certain intervals throughout the day [SECRET’S OUT!]. I wanted to “test” myself to make sure I could keep up with life this week and still provide relevant content. This is the first “live” post in some time. Happy Wednesday at 8:04PM, for real!

Part of the reason I’m using this week as a “test” is because I just found out that I’ve been selected to be a Foodbuzz.com “Featured Publisher”! This means I’ll need to maintain frequent food-related posts, but I’ll also be able to put the Foodbuzz.com “stamp of approval” on Ryes and ‘Shine, participate in blog festivals, cover local events, share my content with more readers and bloggers, and host ads. Unfortunately, one of the Team Members at Foodbuzz informed me that this will require an overhaul of my blog – beginning with moving to a self-hosted platform. The move involves money, so I’m taking time to weigh the costs and benefits of becoming a Featured Publisher, and giving a lot of thought to my commitment to writing and sharing. I’ll keep you posted [ha], but if you begin to notice changes to my interface, it’s because I’ve begun transitioning to a self-hosted platform. If you don’t, that means I’ll be keeping my tiny little blog as-is…for now.

Other than having little time to blog, there’s been little time to eat. I’m trying to strike a balance by creating fun meals with staple items in short amounts of time. Tonight’s staple is canned cannellini [white] beans. The result? White Bean Salad with Feta & Mint.

The salad came together in 10 minutes, and we added No-Bull veggie burgers to the plates to complete the meal. Voila, fast dinner. When I laid out all of the ingredients I had in mind on the cutting board, I was nervous that there were too many strong flavors. Not so. Especially if you like onions!

sans flash.

flash, for kicks. GLOWING FETA.

If you don’t like onions, omit them and make this anyway. It’s a keeper.

White Bean Salad with Feta & Mint (Vegetarian)

Prep Time: 10 minutes

Serves: 2

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups spinach, cut into thin strips
  • 2-3 tbsp fresh mint, minced
  • 1/2 cup white beans, drained and rinsed
  • 1 small apple, chopped
  • 1/2 red onion, julienned
  • 1/4 cup feta crumbles
  • 2 spoonfuls of dijon mustard (I used Shaun’s beer mustard)
  • 2-3 tbsp vinegar of your choice
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

1. In a medium bowl, toss the spinach, mint, beans, apple, and onion until well mixed.

2. In a small cup, whisk the vinegar and mustard.

3. Pour the dressing into the salad, toss to combine.

4. Separate onto two plates, garnish with 1/8 cup feta and salt and pepper each, serve cold.

* Sarcasm.

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: Food, Recipes

Author:ryesandshine

Courtney grew up in Reading, PA, and has lived in New York City (where she earned a bachelor's degree at NYU), Prague, Philadelphia, and Charlottesville (where she received a J.D. from UVa Law). Courtney and her new husband will settle in Philadelphia following a six-week Euro-trip extravaganza in September of 2012. Courtney's interests include music, writing, criticism, fitness, travel, cooking, and sports. Please enjoy the blog. LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/courtney-marello/1a/375/b30 Tumblr: http://abarrelofoddsandends.tumblr.com/

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

3 Comments on “Subsisting on Canned Beans”

  1. November 3, 2011 at 11:42 am #

    I use canned cannellini beans in so many recipes. It sounds like you had a very nice meal.

    • November 3, 2011 at 4:10 pm #

      I’d love to hear what you use them for! I really enjoy them, especially in minestrone.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Dinner Full of Faux Pas | Ryes and 'Shine - November 4, 2011

    […] then, I even added onion. Hey, it was leftover from yesterday. Had no […]

Leave a Reply

