Race #2: How I’m Preparing


Tomorrow marks Race #2: The C’Ville Fall Classic 10K. This one’s just a tad longer than Race #1, but still manageable [the April 2012 half marathon I just signed up for? less manageable].  And, EXCITING because my bestie and bridesmaid Erin will be here! Here’s how I’m preparing for 6:00AM wake up call number two:

from 302 to 405...

1. Knocking Out the B.L. Thursday: Nothing boosts running confidence like completing a feat you thought impossible. For me, this was running our 5-mile “loop” around C’Ville that we had been running pretty regularly…backwards. Why is this a Bucket List-worthy endeavor? Because you run up Preston/Grady Avenue. Misery. We finally did it yesterday, thinking a lower distance might be better for my legs but the addition of the new hills would still make it a workout. And it did. Suck it, Grady Avenue. I could never even walk up you.

2. Low-Impact Friday: I still don’t think a 10K is an intense enough race that I need to take the day before completely off, but it’s just intense enough that a low-impact exercise is in order. We switched up our workout schedule and made Friday an AFC swim day: interval sprints and stroke work. All the better to prepare for the May 13th Sprint Triathlon…

3. New Playlist: Everyone but me had an iPod at the 6K. NOT THIS TIME. I put together a brand-new running mix for the race. Tomorrow will be the first time I’ll hear it so I won’t be bored.

4. No Surprises: It’s going to be COLD Saturday A.M., but that’s no cause to throw on new layers the morning of. For Thursday’s run I wore my new North Face running gloves to make sure I was comfortable with them. Never wear something you never have before during a race, you never know what could throw you off.

5. Morning Prep: I picked out an outfit [surprisingly less Nike and more North Face this time, guess that’s the weather], I picked which shoes I’ll wear [Nike Pegasus 28+ Trail], charged my Nano, and prepped some overnight oats to eat immediately upon crossing the finish line. I’m not playing games with fuel since we’ll be at a winery tomorrow afternoon.

6. Dinner: Will be a nutrient dense Revolutionary Soup meal followed by some Arch’s Wow Cow, because it’s now officially a tradition. Duh.

7. How I’m Feeling: EXCITED! Mostly because I know Shaun and Erin [!!!!!!] will be waiting for me at the finish and we have an AWESOME day planned: farmer’s market, Foods of All Nations, winery, dinner at ZoCaLo which means a MEZCAL OLD-FASHIONED [so many B.L. things being checked off this weekend, by the way], checking out the new Commonwealth Skybar, just plain enjoying C’Ville fall. No matter how I perform tomorrow, the afternoon will make everything better.

Talk to you in 10K!

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: C-Ville

Author:ryesandshine

Courtney grew up in Reading, PA, and has lived in New York City (where she earned a bachelor's degree at NYU), Prague, Philadelphia, and Charlottesville (where she received a J.D. from UVa Law). Courtney and her new husband will settle in Philadelphia following a six-week Euro-trip extravaganza in September of 2012. Courtney's interests include music, writing, criticism, fitness, travel, cooking, and sports. Please enjoy the blog. LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/courtney-marello/1a/375/b30 Tumblr: http://abarrelofoddsandends.tumblr.com/

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

