Mushy Foods for Sick People


I’m still feeling under the weather, and the weather is currently disgusting. Almost every task I’ve undertaken today failed, e.g., actually attending class and “working out.” I worked up a sweat, but I’m sure this had less to do with intensity and more to do with my body shedding tears from every pore, begging me to take a break.

Thanks to this cold, tonight’s plan to attend the Vegan Meet-Up Group’s Whole Foods event is no more, but Whole Foods is hosting a second one in mid-October. I’ll be there. Tonight, I’ll be in the fetal position with more soup for dinner and a cup of homemade applesauce. What’s better to gum down than that?

Applesauce has never been high on my snack list, unless it’s a butter replacement in a baked good recipe. I enjoy eating whole apples without ten pounds of added sugar, but today when I tried to bite into a piece of a granny smith and my whole face burned, I had to find a new way of getting this particular nutrient into my mouth. This particular nutrient. Nothing else would do. Fixation?

Applesauce is quite simple to make, once you get past peeling and coring the apples. I used a bag of Virginia romas bought at Whole Foods. These apples were HUGE. I’ve never seen anything like them.

5-lbs of apples.

I peeled,* diced, and tossed the romas in a baking dish with cinnamon, cardamom, vanilla, water, and splenda. After 40 minutes in the oven, the apples were bubbling and caramelized.

And smelled delicious.

Roasted.

Then, I got to use one of my favorite kitchen toys: the potato masher. I love doing these things by hand!

THE MASHER.

Mashed.

Doing it by hand allows you to keep a bit of chunkiness in the mash, which I love.

Yes.

I snacked on a coffee mug full of this after my Whole Foods’ minestrone dinner. The cardamom is key. I could sit and eat the entire jar right now…but I’ll watch videos of animals eating pumpkins, instead.

Baked Applesauce (Vegan, Vegetarian)

A special shout-out to Katie at The Parsley Thief for the idea to add cardamom to the sauce! It’s perfect.

Prep time: 50 minutes

Tools: Potato Masher

Ingredients:

  • 6-7 roma apples, peeled, cored, and diced
  • 1/2 cup of water
  • 1/3 cup Splenda (or regular sugar)
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 tablespoon cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon cardamom
  • Sprinkle of salt

Directions:

1. Preheat the oven to 425 degrees.

2. Peel, core and dice the apples and place them in the baking dish.

3. In a small bowl, whisk together the water, sugar, vanilla, cinnamon, cardamom and salt. Pour over the apples and stir well.

4. Roast for 40-45 minutes.

5. Mash the apples with a potato masher until the sauce reaches its desired consistency. Store in a jar in the fridge. Enjoy!

 

* Shaun’s keeping the skins in a tupperware in the fridge. Any suggestions for what we can do with them?

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Categories: Recipes

Author:ryesandshine

Courtney grew up in Reading, PA, and has lived in New York City (where she earned a bachelor's degree at NYU), Prague, Philadelphia, and Charlottesville (where she received a J.D. from UVa Law). Courtney and her new husband will settle in Philadelphia following a six-week Euro-trip extravaganza in September of 2012. Courtney's interests include music, writing, criticism, fitness, travel, cooking, and sports. Please enjoy the blog. LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/courtney-marello/1a/375/b30 Tumblr: http://abarrelofoddsandends.tumblr.com/

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

6 Comments on “Mushy Foods for Sick People”

  1. B Licon
    October 11, 2011 at 9:18 pm #

    Add peels to smoothies to add fiber; Cut into strips, coat with cinnamon and sugar (Splenda) and bake—-makes a great snack (put them in small baggies and have them ready for when you get a munchie attack), tastes great on vanilla ice ceam and yummy in oatmeal ( which would turn a disgusting weather” day into a warm and soothing day) especially since you’re “under the weather”. Hope you feel well soon.

    • October 11, 2011 at 9:40 pm #

      Thanks! Baking them sounds like a GREAT idea. I think I might do that tomorrow…

  2. October 11, 2011 at 9:28 pm #

    I’ve always wanted to make my own applesauce. Thanks for the great recipe! I can’t wait to give this a try! Maybe I’ll serve these with pork chops Thursday night!

    • October 11, 2011 at 9:40 pm #

      Thanks for reading! I think the hardest part is peeling and coring the apples. I imagine if you’ve got a food mill it would be much easier. I’ll just have to put one on my wedding registry 😉

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Cake for Breakfast? | Ryes and 'Shine - October 14, 2011

    […] work. I was inspired by The Healthy Foodie‘s Instant Pumpkin Pie Oatmeal Bake and my homemade applesauce from earlier this week. Basically, this is baked oatmeal similar to the baked cereal from a few […]

  2. Foodie Links for 11/17 | Ryes and 'Shine - November 17, 2011

    […] muffins and chili, among other things I wouldn’t consider non-chewing foods. My go-to is pure mush, as I’ve divulged. What do you eat when you’re suffering from a sickness, cracked […]

Leave a Reply

