C’Ville “Real Girls Run” 6K


Greetings from the other side of my first race! Shaun, Grady and I arrived at Darden Towe Park before the sun.

7AM Sunrise.

We also arrived well before the warmth. It was 48 degrees this morning, and I felt severely unprepared for the weather in my running jacket and shorts [note to self: bring earmuffs, gloves, and leggings for the 10K]. My North Face and sweatpants weren’t removed until about 2 minutes before the starting buzzer.

I jogged Grady around the park for a warm-up, stretched, and watched the other women arrive. Grady enjoyed this part, too, because he got a lot of attention from passersby. By 7:30, I was ready to go.

Blue blob on left? That's me.

A woman made some announcements [along the lines of “don’t get lost, follow the orange flags, don’t die”], and we were off. The route was gorgeous! I wish I could have taken photos. It followed the Rivanna River. I made a great decision this morning by choosing my trail shoes over my road shoes, and they did not disappoint [remember, walking Nike ad?]. There were referees at each bend cheering us on, and at the turn-around point a photographer snapped photos.

The best part about this run was the support from the other women. After I hit the turn-around, I started passing women who shouted words of encouragement, waved, and smiled. It was great motivation, and I hope I returned the favor!

For the most part, I kept a steady pace, but did try to push at certain points. My concern was how I didn’t know how far I had gone, so I tried to play it safe. The only problem? The last 0.2 miles was hazard city because people were parking for a baseball tournament and didn’t seem to see the runners with numbers, or notice that their cars were blocking the route. Oh well.

We were greeted at the finish line with medals, cliff bars, water, apples, and cheers. It was a great morning.

But…I’m feeling particularly accomplished right now because… I GOT NINTH PLACE! In my first run! I finished the 6K in 30:10. I felt good when I crossed the finish line, but didn’t realize exactly where I stood until they released the time sheets.

Cold, sweaty and gross.

I sprinted back to Shaun to tell him the news, which in retrospect was probably a bad idea.

How I’m Feeling Now:

Well, I’m still FREEZING. We stopped at Joe’s on the way home and got coffee, but I still can’t seem to get warm. Otherwise, my body feels great. The rest of the day today will be spent chugging liquids on the way to Virginia Beach and stretching out my cold, cold muscles. For now? A warm shower. And hugs for my fiance and puppy, who came out so early and stood in the cold to support me. Love them.

See you at the beach!

P.S.: What did Grady do during my run?

Chomp.

Tug.

“What is taking her SO LONG? It’s time to play.”

 

 

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: C-Ville

Author:ryesandshine

Courtney grew up in Reading, PA, and has lived in New York City (where she earned a bachelor's degree at NYU), Prague, Philadelphia, and Charlottesville (where she received a J.D. from UVa Law). Courtney and her new husband will settle in Philadelphia following a six-week Euro-trip extravaganza in September of 2012. Courtney's interests include music, writing, criticism, fitness, travel, cooking, and sports. Please enjoy the blog. LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/courtney-marello/1a/375/b30 Tumblr: http://abarrelofoddsandends.tumblr.com/

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Do You Work Out When You’re Sick? | Ryes and 'Shine - October 17, 2011

    […] is a question that I’ve been pondering ever since I felt terrible a few days after my first race. Oddly enough, in the same cardio session yesterday I got the scientific data about workouts while […]

  2. Race #2: How I’m Preparing | Ryes and 'Shine - October 21, 2011

    […] marks Race #2: The C’Ville Fall Classic 10K. This one’s just a tad longer than Race #1, but still manageable [the April 2012 half marathon I just signed up for? less manageable].  And, […]

  3. My Personal Top-Ten of 2011 | Ryes and 'Shine - December 31, 2011

    […] “C’Ville ‘Real Girls Run 6K” – My first […]

Leave a Reply

