Race #1: How I’m Preparing


This afternoon, I picked up my race packet at Charlottesville Running Company for tomorrow’s 6K. It included an awesome moisture-wicking t-shirt, a cliff bar, some sort of gel running fuel, and my number:

I’m so excited! Even though it’s a short run, I’m still aiming for the fastest time possible. To help reach my goals, I’m working up a prep routine – one I’ll hopefully follow before the next two races, too. Here’s how #302 is prepping for the morning [6:00AM wake up call…blah].

1. What I’m Doing: The jury’s out on whether a workout the day before a race is a good or bad thing. I went with my gut and did cardio intervals and some weight training. I think before the 10-miler and the half marathon I’ll definitely take the day off, but it didn’t seem terribly necessary for this run.

2. What I’m Eating: Absolutely nothing abnormal. Tonight’s dinner was vegetables and tofu with brown rice. Tomorrow AM, I’ll have half an apple and some dried fruit before the run, and bring cold oats to the park to eat when I’m finished while Grady plays in the dog park for the first time!

3. What I’m Drinking: Water, tea, water, water, and Powerade Zero to make sure all’s clear on the electrolyte front. I’m keeping my body alcohol-free until after these races are finished [it’s just two weeks, after all]. I’ve spent so much money on them, it’s the least I can do to maximize my performance. Tomorrow morning I’ll have water and caffeinated tea, and bring along another Powerade Zero to chug with my post-run breakfast. There will probably be a stop at a coffee shop on the way home, too…

4. My Biggest Prep Struggle: Getting enough rest. I’m a terrible sleeper to begin with. But tonight, the Phillies-Cardinals Game 5 starts at 8:30PM. Since we don’t have cable, we’d have to go somewhere to watch it, which I really want to do. I’m trying to convince myself I can peace by 10 or 10:30, but since I sleep so poorly as it is, that could be cutting my shut-eye down to 5 or 6 total hours. We’ll see.

I’ll leave you with this photo of the man who will cheer me on tomorrow morning [AKA, dig up the dog park while I try to run fast enough to get back and ensure he hasn’t destroyed anything], taken this morning by Amy at the vet’s office:

Yo.

See you after my first race, ever!

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: C-Ville

Author:ryesandshine

Courtney grew up in Reading, PA, and has lived in New York City (where she earned a bachelor's degree at NYU), Prague, Philadelphia, and Charlottesville (where she received a J.D. from UVa Law). Courtney and her new husband will settle in Philadelphia following a six-week Euro-trip extravaganza in September of 2012. Courtney's interests include music, writing, criticism, fitness, travel, cooking, and sports. Please enjoy the blog. LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/courtney-marello/1a/375/b30 Tumblr: http://abarrelofoddsandends.tumblr.com/

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

