New Gifts and New Routines


It’s still raining in Charlottesville, and it’s starting to wear on us. But a wonderful surprise waiting on our porch when we got home from class turned the afternoon around! I blogged last week about how it took forever to cut a butternut squash with our sad, sad knives. To my surprise, my Aunt Bev responded by sending Shaun and I the most wonderful gift – a brand new set of Wusthof knives! !!!!!!!!!!!

Awesome.

They’re beautiful. The set came with nine knives, a cutting block, knife sharpener, and a knife block. Now I finally have a chef’s knife! I’m excited to learn how to use each knife to its fullest potential. The chef’s knife made creating this salad faster and easier than ever before.

So easy.

I was literally squealing with delight every time I sliced a veggie. It was like slicing butter. Thank you SO MUCH, Aunt Bev! We love you! I can’t wait to use these every day… starting with tonight’s dinner.

The Routine Overhaul:

Over the past few weeks, I’ve become increasingly bored with my workouts. I often dread waking up to run or lift, and found myself skipping more than I ever have in the past. I developed an antagonistic relationship with working out – and therefore a bad relationship with food, too. The less I cared about working out, the less I cared about what I ate. I finally sat down with Shaun yesterday and said, “I need a change,” to which he happily agreed. So, this morning we headed to Dick’s and I picked out some new gear to start swimming again:

Lots of goodies.

After class, I tested everything out. I loved the feeling of the water and seeing goggle marks on my face again.

I was a swimmer all the way through high school, and it’s amazing how quickly things came back to me once I got in the water at AFC. Now, my form is awful and there’s a long way to go – but this new workout felt amazing. I completed about 50 laps doing various drills, and my shoulders, triceps, legs, and core are killing me. It’s a beautiful thing. I think having a long way to go will make this a rewarding and fulfilling new addition to my fitness regime. Plus, the addition of lower-resistance workouts will ease the stress on our joints from all of the running.

Our new workout plan is going to look something like this:

  • Mondays: AFC Swim, possibly brief cycle
  • Tuesdays: Run (5-6 miles) & core drills
  • Wednesday: AFC Swim
  • Thursday: Run (5-6 miles) & core drills
  • Friday: Cardio/Strength Blend (at a gym)
  • Saturday: Long Run (6+ miles) & core drills
  • Sunday: Recovery, yoga, cycle, etc. – whatever we’re in the mood for. Maybe even a hike!

And, our newly-formed goal for our new routine [that we discussed over the easiest lunch I’ve ever chopped]? Lake Anna’s 2012 Sprint Triathlon: 750-meter swim; 12-mile bike; 3.1 mile run. Lake Anna has an Olympic-distance triathlon one day [1500-meter swim; 24.9-mile bike; and 6.2-mile run], and the sprint triathlon the next. I’ve recruited some of my friends who were college swimmers to give me tips on training in the pool. I feel really good about this new plan!

Stay tuned for tonight’s dinner and Wavves concert.

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Food

Author:ryesandshine

Courtney grew up in Reading, PA, and has lived in New York City (where she earned a bachelor's degree at NYU), Prague, Philadelphia, and Charlottesville (where she received a J.D. from UVa Law). Courtney and her new husband will settle in Philadelphia following a six-week Euro-trip extravaganza in September of 2012. Courtney's interests include music, writing, criticism, fitness, travel, cooking, and sports. Please enjoy the blog. LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/courtney-marello/1a/375/b30 Tumblr: http://abarrelofoddsandends.tumblr.com/

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Thursday Top Fives | Ryes and 'Shine - September 29, 2011

    […] My new workout regime […]

Leave a Reply

