So Many Accomplishments


I can’t believe how long it just took me to respond to my backlog of e-mails from the weekend. It’s amazing how quickly things pile up when you’re out enjoying yourself with your family. I had a chance to chat with quite a few people from my job, because I’ve now officially accepted – and committed myself to taking the Pennsylvania bar exam in July of 2012. Come this time next year, I will be a Philadelphia attorney, and I couldn’t be happier. Who would’ve thought?

Despite the miserable, rainy weather today, Shaun and I managed to check two restaurants off of our bucket list. It involved mostly picking at both, as neither of us were very hungry, but needed to get out of the dark & damp house. One choice made us happy that we branched out, the other – not so much.

While my parents went to Montpelier, Shaun and I spent a good chunk of time at the glorious new Whole Foods picking up some ingredients for the week. I finally re-stocked my chia seed collection [LOVE the new bulk section], and we got some more fruit and vegetables. We were craving salads after staring at their awesome salad bar, and were about to drive to Bodo’s for the Cleo [to which I always add Twin Oaks tofu… delish] when Shaun decided we should change it up. He recommended Sticks, which has always been on our list, but just close enough to the end that we never really consider it. Today, we did.

Sticks Kebab Shop has a few locations around town, but we opted for the one on Preston. It bills itself as “fast food fired up,” and after taking a look at their nutrition information, I thought a salad would be a good choice.

Blah.

My “salad” was basically a pile of soggy romaine with about 3 tomatoes and a few grilled onions. I opted for fish, which was grilled with lemon and garlic and just OK. I did enjoy the cucumber dressing, but all in all, it was nothing I would eat again. Shaun felt the same about his lamb platter. The best part was Shaun’s eggplant salad – with lemon, mint and cumin.

No, I take that back, the best part of this meal was the hot sauce.

Yum.

But even this was just a watery harissa. Putting hot sauce on everything made the meal a little better, or at least numbed the pain. But $22 for this? Definitely not worth it. I’m glad we tried, if not just so we know we’re not missing anything.

When my parents got back from Montpelier [which led to a stop at Horton Vineyards, which led to an impromptu shopping trip at World Market… thanks, wine], their friend Tim was craving pizza. Shaun recommended Fry’s Spring Station, and everyone agreed.

Brand new.

Gorgeous patio.

Fry’s Spring opened up last year in what used to be a deserted, worn down gas station [built in 1931] across from my 1L apartment on Jefferson Park Avenue. It definitely would have been much prettier to look at than the empty lot Kelly and I stared at for a year! The inside is gorgeous, with creative ceiling fans and photos of the old Station as it was in the 1930s.

They have a reasonably priced menu, packed with panini, salads, pasta, and pizza, and an impressive wine and beer selection [including growlers!]. All of the draft beers offered are from local breweries, and I believe Wednesdays are 1/2 off wine nights.

My parents and Tim got pizza, which was wood-grilled and looked beautiful, and Karen ordered the muffuletta, which I describe to those who are unfamiliar as a New Orleans Italian hoagie. What makes or breaks one is [apparently… this is outside my veggie world] the kalamata olive spread put on the sandwich. My parents said the pizza was awesome, and Karen enjoyed the sandwich!

Shaun and I opted for a lighter dinner, splitting a hummus and vegetables platter and a portobello panini.

Red Pepper Hummus.

Grilled mushroom win.

The hummus platter was simple but delicious. Packed with olives, tomatoes, lettuce, pepperoncini, onions, and fresh-grilled pita bread, I think it’s the best hummus plate of its kind [the simple kind] I’ve had in C’Ville. Tea Bazaar’s hummus platter still wins for creativity of dipping mechanisms, uniqueness, and aesthetics, but if you just want a straightforward appetizer, this one is perfect.

The panini was also delicious. A tiny smear of goat cheese, rather than half a pound, made the portobellos the star, accompanied by tomatoes, onion and artichoke. Their house dressing on the salad is a lemony vinaigrette. All of the flavors of the dishes were strong and delicious, and this menu is well within the price range for a regular dinner spot. Great values! I’m half hoping they’ll play the [Phillies] World Series games, although I can never resist watching that [AKA the Phillies] at Blue Light Grill.

I’m so glad this place wasn’t open when I lived across the street, I wouldn’t have been able to resist! I can’t wait to go back and try the pizzas and the greek salad.

After dinner we spent a good hour doing some intense cardio at AFC. So many accomplishments in one day! Now, it’s back to answering e-mails and working on this week’s round of papers [one for Wednesday, one for Friday]. I’m glad my parents had a good weekend, although I wish they had better weather. They’ll be back for graduation soon enough, though.

Tomorrow after my shopping trip, I’ll update you on my [and Shaun’s] new workout plan. It’s a complete overhaul of everything I’ve been doing, and I’m so excited. Tomorrow night is also the Wavves concert at the Jefferson!

Tags: , , , , , ,

Categories: C-Ville, Food

Author:ryesandshine

Courtney grew up in Reading, PA, and has lived in New York City (where she earned a bachelor's degree at NYU), Prague, Philadelphia, and Charlottesville (where she received a J.D. from UVa Law). Courtney and her new husband will settle in Philadelphia following a six-week Euro-trip extravaganza in September of 2012. Courtney's interests include music, writing, criticism, fitness, travel, cooking, and sports. Please enjoy the blog. LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/courtney-marello/1a/375/b30 Tumblr: http://abarrelofoddsandends.tumblr.com/

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. C’Ville’s Best Places to Watch the Game, Pt. II | Ryes and 'Shine - October 8, 2011

    […] last night to watch the first hour of the game before I hit the hay for the 6K. You may remember we recently tried dinner there for the first time and really enjoyed it. Fry's […]

Leave a Reply

