My Foodie Profile


Related to my post earlier about David Cross and Modern Family, check out this event that’s happening in NYC next weekend. I definitely contemplated my travel options. Reason won, but not by much.

Related to nothing other than adorable-ness, check out this article. [Shaun: “No, you cannot have one.”]

When Serious Eats takes on a new intern, they have them fill out a brief profile as a means of introduction. Since I dove in to this blog without much of an introduction, I thought I’d give it a shot. So here is how I’d answer if I worked for Serious Eats…

Name: Courtney
Location: Charlottesville, VA
Occupation: Student

Guilty pleasures?

Vitamin Water Zero, and watching Cheers on Netflix.

When did you first realize you were a “serious eater”?

Probably not until I left New York City for Charlottesville. I think I found it easier to eat based on geography rather than search for the best of the best, because the city was just so huge and there were entirely too many options. After the move, I became more conscious of what I was eating and where it was coming from, and I began to make comparisons and create hierarchies of likes and dislikes.

Describe your perfect meal.

My perfect meal would be served small-plate style at a bar rather than a table. I don’t like committing to one meal, I’d rather try a ton of different things – and I enjoy interacting with the staff at the bar. My perfect meal would probably occur at a place like Amada for those reasons, which just so happens to be a place where I had one of the best meals of my life.  Not at Mas, though.

What food won’t you eat?

Pickled tripe [AKA… cow stomach]. I tried it once [at Momofuku]. I’m not a picky eater, but ugh. And basically anything from a fast food restaurant. The latter is more for moral reasons, the former based on texture.

What would you like to try but haven’t yet?

The Tofu Wellington at C&O in Charlottesville. It’s exactly what it sounds like – a vegan beef wellington. I’m really playing this up in my mind. And, I get to eat it this Friday night.

What do your family and friends think of your food obsessions?

I don’t really have “obsessions.” I have “very strong opinions.” Thankfully, Shaun does, too. My parents think I’m a “wine snob,” if that counts. I just like to know what I’m eating and have an informed reason for eating it. I try not to overwhelm people with my Very Strong Opinions [except for my dad and he knows why], so hopefully my food obsessions go unnoticed to the general public.

Favorite food person?

I enjoy different “food people” for different reasons. Michael Solomonov [if I haven’t raved enough] is my favorite chef. His food is creative, down-to-earth, and inspired. I enjoy watching Anthony Bourdain, and not just because I used to work at the Park Avenue Les Halles. His show is entertaining, as is his writing, and he’s a great person to live vicariously through. Michael Pollan’s twitter feed is my favorite on the internets. It’s informative.

Favorite food sites or blogs?

The “food” section of my Google Reader is packed. Foodgawker is awesome, and I’d love to one day have a good enough recipe and photo to be posted there. I also enjoy Civil Eats, Whole Story Blog, The Kitchn, Serious Eats and many other smaller blogs [check my “Inspiration” section for some great ones].

Everyone has a go-to person they call for restaurant recommendations. Who’s yours?

My go-to is really my own research. I follow a ton of blogs and participate in Google Hotpot, and that’s where I’ve discovered most of the restaurants I adore.

And what’s the best recommendation they’ve ever given you?

Zahav, Amada, and Tavola. All 3 found in magazines and blogs.

What is your favorite meal of the day and where do you get it?

Breakfast, because I only recently realized how fun it is to experiment with. We rarely eat out for breakfast because it is so easy [and healthier] to make at home [notable exception: this weekend]. We make home-made granolas and breads and smoothies, experiment with oatmeals and omelettes, and have even made home-made jam [banana jam, to be exact and oh god it was awesome]. And, Trader Joe’s cereal exists.

Do you ever cook? What’s the best dish you make?

I cook and bake a lot. I don’t really know what the best dish I make is, because I try really hard not to repeat. I think Shaun would say it’s a dessert: my fat-free carrot cake cupcakes or my “old-fashioned” cupcakes [yup, there’s burbon in those]. I have a simple and delicious tofu bento box recipe I make a lot for lunch that I don’t think I’ll ever get sick of. And I’m particularly fond of my provencale sauce recipe.

Speaking of recipes – a new fall one coming up tonight!

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Food

Author:ryesandshine

Courtney grew up in Reading, PA, and has lived in New York City (where she earned a bachelor's degree at NYU), Prague, Philadelphia, and Charlottesville (where she received a J.D. from UVa Law). Courtney and her new husband will settle in Philadelphia following a six-week Euro-trip extravaganza in September of 2012. Courtney's interests include music, writing, criticism, fitness, travel, cooking, and sports. Please enjoy the blog. LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/courtney-marello/1a/375/b30 Tumblr: http://abarrelofoddsandends.tumblr.com/

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

3 Comments on “My Foodie Profile”

  1. November 27, 2011 at 10:13 pm #

    I am the same way as you, i would rather be able to taste a little bit of everything than me committed to one meal!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. C and O Restaurant | Ryes and 'Shine - September 23, 2011

    […] assured us it was phenomenal. I fulfilled my “Foodie Profile” dream: the vegetable wellington. […]

  2. Taste the HAPPY, Michael! | Ryes and 'Shine - October 2, 2011

    […] I posted earlier about an Arrested Development event that occurred in NYC this weekend. It turns out that the celebration was more productive than even the most die-hard A.D. fan could have imagined. According to the Associated Press, the New Yorker Twitter feed, TMZ.com, etc. etc: […]

Leave a Reply

