Oatmeal Test Kitchen


It’s 42 degrees outside. Our morning run was post-poned until later in the afternoon [when it’s supposed to reach a whopping 62], so I took the time to continue my tour-de-oatmeal. After all, it’s perfect hot cereal weather.

This recipe was inspired by both a desire to eat dessert for breakfast and one of my absolute favorite cupcake recipes: a sugar-free, fat-free carrot cake cupcake with fat-free cream cheese frosting. Dare I share that one, too?

Breakfast? Source.

Carrots, in breakfast? Bear with me. It’s carrot cake oatmeal. I know sometimes it’s a pain to deal with a boatload of ingredients in the morning.

Mess kitchen.

But when your kitchen starts to smell like dessert, you will be happy.

Cooking the carrots.

The only thing that would have made these better is some sort of honey cream-cheese drizzle, and maybe a few slices of pineapple mixed in. I love re-hydrated raisins, they add such an interesting texture.

Orange-y, but still slightly ugly, goodness.

Plus, when you eat dessert for breakfast, what is usually a blood-sugar nightmare is replaced with more complex carbs, namely, steel-cut oats. Oh, and it’s vegan. Highly recommend! I think it may come in second to the pumpkin oatmeal, but that might have been because of my modifications [I’ll post them in the recipe notes].

P.S., if anyone knows how to make oatmeal look pretty in a photo… I’d love a tip.

Carrot Cake Oatmeal

Prep Time: 20 minutes

Serves: 2

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup steel-cut oats
  • 2 cups liquid (I use 1 cup water, 1 cup unsweetened almond milk)
  • 1 cup grated carrot
  • 1 small banana, mashed
  • 2 tbsp sugar of your choice
  • 1 tsp cinnamon and more for garnish
  • 1/2 tsp ginger
  • 1/4 tsp cloves
  • 1/4 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 tsp lemon extract
  • 2 tbsp chopped walnuts
  • 2+ tbsp raisins
  • Honey for garnish

Instructions:

1. In a pot, mix the oats, liquid, sugar, and spices (cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, cloves) and bring to a boil.

2. Reduce the heat and mix in the carrot, banana, raisins and walnuts, stir to blend.

3. Once the oatmeal thickens, mix in the lemon extract and vanilla extract – cook until it reaches the desired consistency.

4. Serve and garnish with extra walnuts, raisins and honey if desired!

Notes: My original cupcake recipe calls for grated apple rather than banana. I think this is ideal; however, we had a banana that needed to be eaten before the weekend. The original recipe also calls for a bit of orange zest – in lieu, I used lemon extract. I think I’d go back to the real orange, but both work fine. I also think this recipe would be perfect with simply cinnamon rather than a spice blend. The carrot does add a bit of water to the pot, so this oatmeal didn’t thicken as much – if that’s a problem, reduce the 2-cups of liquid right off the bat. And go heavy on the carrot, it’s the best part.

Like I said, other variations include adding a bit of pineapple or a honey-cream cheese drizzle. Lots of people have different carrot cake recipes and I encourage exploration of all of them!

As always, feel free to substitute rolled oats for steel-cut to reduce cooking time.

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Food, Recipes

Author:ryesandshine

Courtney grew up in Reading, PA, and has lived in New York City (where she earned a bachelor's degree at NYU), Prague, Philadelphia, and Charlottesville (where she received a J.D. from UVa Law). Courtney and her new husband will settle in Philadelphia following a six-week Euro-trip extravaganza in September of 2012. Courtney's interests include music, writing, criticism, fitness, travel, cooking, and sports. Please enjoy the blog. LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/courtney-marello/1a/375/b30 Tumblr: http://abarrelofoddsandends.tumblr.com/

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

5 Comments on “Oatmeal Test Kitchen”

  1. jbockert
    September 16, 2011 at 9:54 am #

    You inspire me!

    • September 16, 2011 at 10:00 am #

      I’m glad! I’m hoping to test out many more. Good thing Shaun is down to be a guinea pig..

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Salted Caramel Carob Oatmeal | Ryes and 'Shine - September 26, 2011

    […] When I did a test run of this one last weekend (without a few of the ingredients), Shaun said it might come in second to the Pumpkin Oatmeal. That’s saying something, since you can’t trust him around carrot cake. […]

  2. Baked Cereal | Ryes and 'Shine - September 30, 2011

    […] The texture is very different from stovetop oats, but equally as delicious. This might be my new go-to make-and-take to brunches recipe! And I’m sure you could substitute any of the flavors from previous recipes like pumpkin and carrot cake. […]

  3. Carrots for Breakfast, Again. | Ryes and 'Shine - December 20, 2011

    […] by this [from my own arsenal]; adapted from this [at Edible […]

Leave a Reply

