Market Wraps and Other News


First, the other news:

Yesterday at the gym, I met the husband of a woman who does make-up for “The Knot” magazine’s photo shoots. Anyone who is engaged/thinking of getting engaged/married/likes looking at pretty pictures probably has spent some time perusing this site. Some of it’s resources are invaluable. We got to talking and he said, “We got married nineteen years ago, and it’s still the best decision I’ve ever made in my life.” Such a happy gym workout. Today’s workout was another 5.5-miler. I shaved about a minute off my time by mostly focusing on cadence [as I mentioned in an earlier post]. The bottom line? If you’re in a running rut, I definitely recommend toying with your cadence. Stride is important and often overlooked, but spend some time feeling it out… hills were easier.

Oh, and this started.

The phone, for perspective.

Grady’s shedding now. Giant blobs of that stuff. When the ceiling fans are on, it blows across the floor tumbleweed-style.

Yay.

And Now:

Remember yesterday when I was psyched to use my beet hummus? It was to satisfy a monster wrap craving. I’m not a big sandwich/wrap person [other than the Tofu Cheesesteak at Bagby’s… wow]. I generally find them unsatisfying for how calorie dense they are when ordered out. I decided to try my luck at making a healthy home-made version using the farmer’s market bounty, these wraps, Boca burgers, vegan cheese and of course, the beet hummus.

Pretty pretty hummus.

Sliced burger.

More farmer's market bounty.

Grilled and delicious.

The wraps are low calorie, high-fiber and protein, and were surprisingly thick and hearty.* I am glad I made the decision to grill them, because it ensured they stayed together. The veggie burgers, soy [pepper jack!] cheese and hummus provided an extra protein punch. This may not look as huge as a chipotle burrito, but we were stuffed.

Ready to eat.

We served them with a salad made from leftover veggies from the wraps. And a pickle, obviously. This is a great “in a rush” meal that uses the freshest ingredients available, and the colors were beautiful! Can’t wait to make it again.

Farmer’s Market Veggie Burger Wraps with Red Beet Hummus:

Prep Time: 15 minutes

Serves: 2

Tools: Panini press or grill

Ingredients:

  • 2 Flatout spinach wraps (or wraps of your choice)
  • 2 boca burgers, sliced
  • 2 slices vegan cheese (I used pepper jack)
  • Hummus
  • Red onion, thinly sliced
  • Tomato, thinly sliced
  • Orange pepper, thinly sliced
  • Zucchini, one thin slice per sandwich
  • Sprouts

Instructions:

1. Lay out the wraps and spread on the hummus of your choosing.

2. Layer burger, cheese, and vegetables on top.

3. Fold (carefully!) and transfer (fold-side down) to a panini press, press for a minute or so.

4. Serve!

* I don’t really mean to promote “low calorie” versons of breads. Bread is delicious, and should be enjoyed for its wholesome awesomeness. That said, these were on sale and I thought they were worth a try. I think they’ll work well for flatbread pizzas, too [just you wait]. Also, I don’t endorse “Hungry Girl” in any way, who seems to be plastered all over the Flatout website. I’ll discuss my opinions of that cookbook one day.

Tags: , , , , ,

Categories: Food, Recipes

Author:ryesandshine

Courtney grew up in Reading, PA, and has lived in New York City (where she earned a bachelor's degree at NYU), Prague, Philadelphia, and Charlottesville (where she received a J.D. from UVa Law). Courtney and her new husband will settle in Philadelphia following a six-week Euro-trip extravaganza in September of 2012. Courtney's interests include music, writing, criticism, fitness, travel, cooking, and sports. Please enjoy the blog. LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/courtney-marello/1a/375/b30 Tumblr: http://abarrelofoddsandends.tumblr.com/

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

3 Comments on “Market Wraps and Other News”

  1. jbockert
    September 15, 2011 at 6:59 am #

    This looks beautiful, so colorful! May have to try this one. With Grady shedding, does this mean I clean before or after this weekend?

  2. September 15, 2011 at 7:04 am #

    Haha! That’s a toss-up. He’s a giant mess…

  3. BLicon
    September 15, 2011 at 8:05 am #

    I could never be a vegetarian ’cause I go through meat withdraw if I don’t get it on a regular basis. And I’m not a very good veggie eater. But I must be strange ’cause I’ve always liked beets. Also like them pickled in a big jar with hard boiled eggs until the eggs are the prettiest shade of purple. Enjoying your blog–learning so much.

Leave a Reply

