Hummus with Beets… Really.


For as much as I adore our food processor, there are some “traditional” food processor recipes that I have never perfected or even tried. Peanut butter, for example, never turns out right. The closest I come is slightly mushy almond crumbles before the food processor burns out and I have to turn it off [if anyone can help me figure out what I’m doing wrong, I’d love the help].

I’ve been meaning to try homemade hummus for ages* – it just always got pushed to the end of the “to-make” list. So many places in town have great hummus plates [OH MY GOD TEA BAZAAR], so it’s just so much easier to order it out – especially when it already comes with delicious [and pre-cut] dipping mechanisms.

But then, I saw beet hummus on Once Upon A Cutting Board. One night, Shaun and I were having a conversation about foods we probably would have never gotten into but-for meeting one another – at the top of my list was beets.** Not because I didn’t like them, but just because I didn’t know anyone else who liked them enough to push for them at restaurants or in recipes. Now, I can’t get enough of them, and we cook with them and order them out constantly [beet and goat cheese salad at Bizou, anyone?]. So when I learned beet hummus was a real thing, I knew it would be the perfect addition to tomorrow night’s dinner plan.

I roasted the beets and put everything into the food processor per Natalie’s recipe, subbing lemon seasoning for lemon juice [I completely forgot to buy a lemon today at the store after a particularly grueling experience with a clerk who didn’t know what tahini was and sent me on a tour de Kroger for 20 minutes], and reducing both the olive oil and tahini content [I put a tablespoon or so of water in place].

Tons of stuff to blend blend blend.

It looks beautiful. And tastes somewhat similar to one of the salatim selections at Zahav [whines]. Except not nearly as awesome – but awesome enough to bring back memories.

SO PINK.

And I can’t wait to add it to tomorrow night’s dinner! You’ll see.

For the recipe, check out Once Upon a Cutting Board!

Prep Time: 1 hour, 15 minutes

Makes: around 2 cups

Tastes: delicious

* OK, I’ve only had the food processor for a year.

** I’ll save the rest of the list for another day.

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: Food, Recipes

Author:ryesandshine

Courtney grew up in Reading, PA, and has lived in New York City (where she earned a bachelor's degree at NYU), Prague, Philadelphia, and Charlottesville (where she received a J.D. from UVa Law). Courtney and her new husband will settle in Philadelphia following a six-week Euro-trip extravaganza in September of 2012. Courtney's interests include music, writing, criticism, fitness, travel, cooking, and sports. Please enjoy the blog. LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/courtney-marello/1a/375/b30 Tumblr: http://abarrelofoddsandends.tumblr.com/

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

3 Comments on “Hummus with Beets… Really.”

  1. September 13, 2011 at 8:28 pm #

    Thanks again for the shout out! I love making hummus – it’s so easy and so much cheaper than buying it, and there are so many different kinds to try! Pumpkin hummus is definitely on my to-make list for fall!
    I’ve only tried making peanut butter once and while the texture was okay, I didn’t love the flavour – probably because it was missing all the sugar and salt from the storebought kinds 🙂

    • September 13, 2011 at 8:56 pm #

      Pumpkin is such an awesome ingredient. I’ve been obsessed with pumpkin oatmeal lately. Hummus w. pumpkin sounds delicious!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Market Wraps and Other News | Ryes and 'Shine - September 14, 2011

    […] Post navigation ← Hummus with Beets… Really. […]

Leave a Reply

