Wedding 101: Engagement Announcements


I’m currently experiencing a massive adrenaline rush because of two things.

First, I completed a 10K+ (not much plus though, only 6.4 miles, but hey, every plus counts) in about 54 minutes after class today. Now, it was on a treadmill rather than outdoors, but at least I know I still have it in me. The final mile or so was done interval-style, alternating between 45 seconds at either 7.6, 8.1 or 8.6 miles per hour and a 7.1 mph recovery for 1 minute 15. My focus was on my cadence (trying to better reach the recommended 90 steps-per-minute), and I definitely felt a difference with how comfortable I was running the faster intervals when I concentrated on this. C’Ville Fall Classic, here I come!

And second, remember in this post where I said “just do it” re: the engagement photos? Well, one reason is chances are, your parents want to put an engagement announcement in your local paper. Engagement announcements are strange. We filled one out for my hometown newspaper.

They don’t want to print how you met or how you got engaged. They want to know three things: (1) your bloodline, (2) your qualifications [A.K.A., how many awesome degrees do you have? More points if you run out of lines], and (3) your current job. How this relates to your engagement is beyond me, but I guess perhaps the paper looks at engagements as another marker of success and groups it in with all of these prior successes?

Our announcement won’t run until probably 6 months after our wedding [talk about a backlog], but it’s a nice way for your families to share their excitement with the community. I’ll be happy to see it, mostly because I don’t know which picture my mom picked to include.

What’s better than an announcement in your city’s newspaper [and the true second reason I’m in such a great mood]? A shoutout from your wonderful friends at the Virginia Law Weekly that surprised you on a Friday morning:

Contrary to the obvious implication, we did not get engaged on North Grounds.

Thanks, guys! This made my day.

Off to hear some Brazilian music!

Tags: , , ,

Categories: Wedding

Author:ryesandshine

Courtney grew up in Reading, PA, and has lived in New York City (where she earned a bachelor's degree at NYU), Prague, Philadelphia, and Charlottesville (where she received a J.D. from UVa Law). Courtney and her new husband will settle in Philadelphia following a six-week Euro-trip extravaganza in September of 2012. Courtney's interests include music, writing, criticism, fitness, travel, cooking, and sports. Please enjoy the blog. LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/courtney-marello/1a/375/b30 Tumblr: http://abarrelofoddsandends.tumblr.com/

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Beleza at C’Ville Coffee | Ryes and 'Shine - September 10, 2011

    […] Post navigation ← Wedding 101: Engagement Announcements […]

  2. Market Wraps and Other News | Ryes and 'Shine - September 14, 2011

    […] 5.5-miler. I shaved about a minute off my time by mostly focusing on cadence [as I mentioned in an earlier post]. The bottom line? If you’re in a running rut, I definitely recommend toying with your […]

  3. Wedding 101: The Other Stuff | Ryes and 'Shine - January 12, 2012

    […] She chalks it up to the fact that she’s “been to a lot of weddings” [she's a photographer, remember?], but I think it’s just a ton of creativity and vision that I can’t wait to see come […]

Leave a Reply

