What’s Making Me Happy Today


On days like today, when it’s unclear whether it will ever be sunny again, it’s easy to feel grumpy. Some of us respond by sleeping all day:

Well, he actually does this all the time.

Others [sub-text: me] frump around in their new favorite article of clothing: a school sweatshirt, in a women’s size, without a hood, but with a pocket. This is huge. For multiple reasons. #1 being that our bookstore seemed to never have sweatshirts appropriately sized for women; #2 being the elusive nature of the no-hood/with-pocket combo. So elusive that the bookstore doesn’t even have a photo up on the website. I’ll spare you one of me frumping, though. Hint: It’s navy and orange.

What’s Making Me Happy Today:

“What’s making you happy today?” is actually a segment on one of my favorite podcasts, NPR’s Pop Culture Happy Hour. It’s basically a set of critics who meet in a studio to discuss/lightly bash current cultural trends (books, movies, TV shows, sporting events, etc.) for 45 minutes. It’s generally really funny and a nice contrast from news sources like the New York Times or the Wall Street Journal. I’m looking forward to listening to last week‘s, which apparently discusses the MTV VMAs. That’s something I could get on board with bashing.

At the end of each podcast, the host goes around the room and asks each person to share one thing that’s making them happy that week.  The answers range from personal to hilarious. Since there’s usually four of them and only one of me, I’ll go around the room four times myself and tell you what’s making me happy on this miserably rainy Tuesday:

1. A. A. Bondy’s new record: A.A. Bondy was my first live concert in Charlottesville in 2009 [with Elvis Perkins, who is also amazing]. I was immediately hooked. He has a great voice and a very mellow stage presence that allows you to really close your eyes and enjoy the moment. The new record drops September 13th, and you can listen to it in its entirety here. I haven’t developed a full opinion yet, but I’m enjoying it so far. Hopefully I’ll hear a lot of it live when he returns to the ‘Ville in November [tickets].

2. A weekend full of checking things off the B.L.: Including a concert at C-Ville Coffee and the Top of the Hops Beer Festival [any other C’Villains attending that, by the way?] – if not just for the fact that I get to make a pretzel necklace. Oh, and the 60+ breweries invading the Downtown Mall.

3. Shaun, to me, ten minutes ago: “I think I’m in the mood to make banana bread.” Um, yes.

4. You people: I’ve gotten a bunch of requests to mail a mixtape. I’m flattered – keep them coming!

I hope something is making you happy today. Feel free to share!

Tags: ,

Categories: Uncategorized

Author:ryesandshine

Courtney grew up in Reading, PA, and has lived in New York City (where she earned a bachelor's degree at NYU), Prague, Philadelphia, and Charlottesville (where she received a J.D. from UVa Law). Courtney and her new husband will settle in Philadelphia following a six-week Euro-trip extravaganza in September of 2012. Courtney's interests include music, writing, criticism, fitness, travel, cooking, and sports. Please enjoy the blog. LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/courtney-marello/1a/375/b30 Tumblr: http://abarrelofoddsandends.tumblr.com/

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

One Comment on “What’s Making Me Happy Today”

  1. Bev Licon
    September 7, 2011 at 5:09 pm #

    Starting each day with at least one happy thought and it’s already a good day. Thanks for sharing your happiness of the day.

Leave a Reply

