The Newest Mixtape


Sunday was [sadly] full of tasks. Rather than visit a winery as planned with two of our friends, I spent the bulk of the afternoon knee-deep in an assignment for class. Then, I noticed muddy footprints on the bottom of the fridge.

So Grady got a bath. Now that his legs are growing and he’s learning to climb and jump, it was more difficult than our first go-around. See if you can see his difference in size between this bath and the last one – dude’s getting huge.

Grady gets a bath at 9 weeks.

Grady gets a bath at 11 weeks.

I can DEFINITELY see a change – he’s growing into his legs. He has a vet appointment on Friday for his second round of shots and I can’t wait to see how much more he weighs [at 8.5 weeks he was 21LB]. His bark is also getting significantly deeper. Puppy puberty?

Today I also spent some time contemplating some fall goals. At this time last year, I was running two 10Ks a week and had just finished the Insanity program [HIGHLY recommend to anyone looking to get in shape…best of my life] – life was good. A summer job that involved way too much eating, drinking and snacking and little gym time has left me worse for the wear this fall. Call it what you will [“bridal boot camp,” “masochism,” “me being me”], I need to start doing my best to get back on track.

So I signed up for two races, one of which is actually on the B.L.: the Charlottesville Women’s 6K (4 miles) on October 8; and the Charlottesville Fall Classic 10K (6.21 miles) on October 22. What’s a better motivator to get back into shape than paying to workout? I’ll be spending the next few weeks working on restoring my long-lost speed, endurance, and muscle tone in preparation for the races. Stay tuned!

Mixtape Time:

Yes, I still make mixtapes. I guess they’re technically mix CDs, whatever. But I make them, and I give them to people a la Rob in Nick Hornby’s High Fidelity.* I probably should have known that Shaun and I would be a good pair when his first gift to me was a mix CD for my car when my iPod died.

I usually burn them onto CDs rather than share them via Dropbox with the recipient because I suffer from order-neuroses: I spend a lot of time choosing the songs and choosing the order such that the list is deliberate and flows in the way I want it to [On one mix, titled “The Constant” and made shortly after the final season of Lost ended, the final chord or note of the previous song is the first chord or note of the following song. That neurotic.]. I take my time with them, and they are usually a snapshot of the newest music I’m enjoying at that point in time.

The mixtape I just finished is more a snapshot of four months ago – this is one I started before my summer program and only got around to finishing a few days ago. Send me your address if you want a copy, I refuse to e-mail the files because I don’t trust any of you to follow my wishes. I’m particularly fond of the 3-4-5 flow. I’ve always wanted to put both the Taco Bell song and Angie’s band, Menya, onto a mix!

#25 – Yo, Where You At?

1. “I Follow Rivers” – Lykke Li [Wounded Rhymes]

2. “Dystopia (The Earth is on Fire)” – Yacht [Shangri-La]

3. “Blinking Pigs” – Little Dragon [Blinking Pigs EP]

4. “Combination Pizza Hut and Taco Bell” – Das Racist [Shut Up, Dude]

5. “Diana (I Heart U)” – Menya [Menya]

6. “Meyrin Fields” – Broken Bells [Meyrin Fields EP]

7. “Jejune Stars” – Bright Eyes [The People’s Key]

8. “Blacks” – Dawn Golden and Rosy Cross [Blow EP]

9. “Strange Reunions” – Yeasayer [Odd Blood]

10. “Lotus Flower” – Radiohead [The King of Limbs]

11. “Multilateral Nuclear Disarmament” – Beastie Boys [Hot Sauce Committee Part II]

12. “Hypnotize U” – N*E*R*D [Nothing]

I hope you enjoy blasting this in your car as much as I do.

A good compilation tape, like breaking up, is hard to do. You’ve got to kick off with a corker, to hold the attention (I started with ‘Got to Get You off My Mind,’ but then realized that she might not get any further than track one, side one, if I delivered what she wanted straightaway, so I buried it in the middle of side two), and then you’ve got to up it a notch, or cool it a notch, and you can’t have white music and black music together, unless the white music sounds like black music, and you can’t have two tracks by the same artist side by side, unless you’ve done the whole thing in pairs, and…oh, there are loads of rules.” – Nick Hornby, High Fidelity

Tags: , , , ,

Categories: C-Ville, Dog, Music

Author:ryesandshine

Courtney grew up in Reading, PA, and has lived in New York City (where she earned a bachelor's degree at NYU), Prague, Philadelphia, and Charlottesville (where she received a J.D. from UVa Law). Courtney and her new husband will settle in Philadelphia following a six-week Euro-trip extravaganza in September of 2012. Courtney's interests include music, writing, criticism, fitness, travel, cooking, and sports. Please enjoy the blog. LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/courtney-marello/1a/375/b30 Tumblr: http://abarrelofoddsandends.tumblr.com/

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

6 Comments on “The Newest Mixtape”

  1. Laura
    September 5, 2011 at 5:01 am #

    I went to high school with Hima, of Das Racist. No, seriously. I can’t believe you know that song!

    • September 5, 2011 at 10:51 am #

      That’s amazing! Yes, and looking forward to the new record!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. What’s Making Me Happy Today | Ryes and 'Shine - September 7, 2011

    […] You people: I’ve gotten a bunch of requests to mail a mixtape. I’m flattered – keep them […]

  2. Into the Wavves Archives… | Ryes and 'Shine - September 28, 2011

    […] blogged earlier about the obsessive nature with which I attack a mixtape when I’m creating one, and I […]

  3. A Tech Junkie’s Salute | Ryes and 'Shine - October 5, 2011

    […] I wouldn’t be able to make and share mixtapes without my iTunes […]

  4. My Personal Top-Ten of 2011 | Ryes and 'Shine - December 31, 2011

    […] “The Newest Mixtape” – My first attempt to share […]

Leave a Reply

