Gazpacho v2


Today’s workout left me a bit sore. I did a P90X/Insanity “Mash-Up”* in our workout room: the 11-minute standard Insanity warm-up, followed by alternating P90X weight circuits and Insanity cardio circuits for a little over an hour. It was a good combo of sweat and burn, and made me hungry for DINNER.

Dinner comes with a recipe and a story: Around this time last year we went to the Charlottesville Farmer’s Market to reap the rewards of the late summer/early fall harvest. I was motivated to make gazpacho. Awesome, no?

Not awesome. I didn’t have a food processor. What I had was a tiny little blender [I’m thinking like, magic bullet size]. What I did was make the gazpacho in portions. Small portions. It was a big, stressful mess. The end result was delicious; however, it wasn’t worth the minor mental breakdown.

Not long after, my future mother-in-law brought us a housewarming gift – a food processor! Eager to give the recipe another shot and fueled by this-is-my-last-night-before-class-when-will-I-ever-have-time-to-make-gazpacho-again-induced panic, I went to the store today to try again. Unfortunately, even after cutting down the recipe to a more manageable portion, It still wouldn’t fit in the food processor in one go-around – but instead of 10 chunks, I only had to do two. Win.

Excuse our dirty placemats.

I think the result was delicious, particularly because this time I played with tradition by dumping sriracha and liquid smoke [$1.80, Foods of All Nations] into the food processor along with the veggies. I’m always eager to add little twists, but I wonder if gazpacho is worth the labor. I also regret not holding out until Saturday for the farmer’s market veggies – store-bought tomatoes are never the best. I do have such an awesome recipe in mind for Saturday already, though…

We served tonight’s meal with a side of  Great Harvest Cheddar Garlic bread – which we got by redeeming a “free loaf” coupon we snagged back in April before the store opened. I hadn’t been inside Great Harvest yet, but today I learned the store (1) looks fun (2) smells awesome and (3) gives out great free samples. We left with our [delicious] bread, plus a bag of “Cville Cluster” granola – a chewier, chunkier granola than I’m used to. It’s pretty good, albeit sweet. Needless to say, I snacked on it in the car on the way home. It’s now hidden on a high shelf.

Stay tuned the rest of the week for: wedding notes, dog training updates, a Friday concert, a Saturday recipe, and a Sunday dogventure – “Yappy Hour,” are you intrigued yet?

Spicy, Smoky Gazpacho with Avocado Salsa (AKA Gazpacho v2) (Vegetarian, Vegan)

Adapted with significant modifications from Nicola Graimes’ 2002 “Vegetarian” cookbook, p.160

Prep Time: 20-30 minutes

Chill Time: 1+ hours

Serves: 2-4, depending on whether it’s an appetizer or an entree

For the Gazpacho:

  • 3 red and 1 yellow tomato (or four large tomatoes of your choosing)
  • 1  jalapeño, seeded and diced
  • 1 cucumber, peeled, seeded and diced
  • 1 small onion, diced
  • 1 red bell pepper, seeded and diced
  • 5 cloves garlic, minced
  • Juice of 1 lemon
  • Juice of 1 lime
  • Handful basil leaves
  • Sriracha
  • Liquid smoke
  • Splash of olive oil
  • Salt and pepper
  • ~ 1 cup cold water
For the “Salsa” Topping:
  • 1/2 avocado, diced
  • Small piece cucumber, peeled, seeded and diced
  • 1  jalapeño, seeded and diced
  • Squeeze of lime juice
Instructions:
  1. Bring a pot of water to a boil. Trust me, this is the best trick you will ever learn.
  2. While the water is boiling, peel/seed/chop/dice/mince all but the tomatoes (peppers, garlic, onion, cucumber)
  3. Once the water has come to a boil, pour it over the tomatoes and let them sit in a bowl with the boiling water for 30 seconds. Remove them from the water, and try peeling them – it is the most beautiful thing ever – the skin peels right off whole. Slice the tomatoes in half, scoop out the seeds, and chop them.
  4. In a food processor (note: I had to split it up into two chunks), mix the vegetables, a splash of olive oil, the cold water, basil leaves (save some for garnish), juice of 1 lemon and 1 lime, as much sriracha as your heart desires, and a few shots of liquid smoke (until you can smell it). Stir in a little salt and pepper.
  5. Pulse or blend until you reach your desired consistency. I like gazpacho chunkier, some people like to puree until smooth.
  6. Place the gazpacho in the fridge to chill until dinnertime!
  7. Meanwhile, dice the 1/2 avocado,  jalapeño,  piece of cucumber and mix together with the lime juice. This will be your topping.
Enjoy!
* I did not receive permission from the producers of Glee to use this term. The cast and crew of Glee in no way endorse this blog, its content, or its opinions. My apologies for the obvious confusion.
Tags: ,

Categories: Recipes

Author:ryesandshine

Courtney grew up in Reading, PA, and has lived in New York City (where she earned a bachelor's degree at NYU), Prague, Philadelphia, and Charlottesville (where she received a J.D. from UVa Law). Courtney and her new husband will settle in Philadelphia following a six-week Euro-trip extravaganza in September of 2012. Courtney's interests include music, writing, criticism, fitness, travel, cooking, and sports. Please enjoy the blog. LinkedIn: http://www.linkedin.com/pub/courtney-marello/1a/375/b30 Tumblr: http://abarrelofoddsandends.tumblr.com/

Subscribe

Subscribe to our RSS feed and social profiles to receive updates.

3 Comments on “Gazpacho v2”

  1. jbockert
    September 3, 2011 at 12:06 pm #

    “future mother-in-law”, I like that!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. My Favorite Paella | Ryes and 'Shine - September 4, 2011

    […] peeled and chopped tomato (remember my tip for peeling tomatoes from the gazpacho […]

  2. Dreaming of Grits and Chile at ZoCaLo | Ryes and 'Shine - October 23, 2011

    […] you can’t tell, I love smoky flavors – smoked gazpacho, smoked pumpkin chili, smoked beer, you name it. This dish was everything I could ever ask for: […]

Leave a Reply

